

Appendix N – 2024 Motor Sport Australia WA HTC State Championship

1. Objective

The objective for the 2024 Motorsport Australia WA HTC Championship shall be to provide a competitive racing category for Group N cars that comply with this Appendix and with the requirements outlined in the 2024 MOTORSPORT AUSTRALIA Manual of Motorsport.

The series shall be officially known as the WA HTC State Championship.

2. Category Organiser

The category organiser is the WA Historic Touring Car Club (WAHTCC).

3. Eligibility

- a. This Appendix is prepared in accordance with the 2023 MOTORSPORT AUSTRALIA Championship and Series Policy.
- The WA HTC State Championship is open to competitors in Group N cars complying with this Appendix and the MOTORSPORT AUSTRALIA Manual of Motorsport 2024 Specification of Automobiles 5th Category – Historic Cars Group A, C, N & U – Touring Cars.
- c. Cars must be compliant with the applicable technical regulations and technical bulletins issued by MOTORSPORT AUSTRALIA and issued with a logbook.
- d. The Category Organiser shall appoint an Eligibility Officer and that person (or their appointed delegate, authorised in writing) may request an inspection of any competing vehicle for compliance with eligibility rules. The chief scrutineer in accordance with any provisions of the MOTORSPORT AUSTRALIA Manual shall conduct any eligibility inspections.

- e. A car which is not a compliant Group N car (an 'invited car') may only compete in a WA HTC State Championship race if it is log booked as a 5th Category car.
- f. The Category Organiser may request the Clerk of Course to exclude from any WA HTC State Championship qualifying session or race any vehicle that is not compliant with clause 8 of these regulations and the request will not unreasonably be denied.

4. Class Definition

Classes for the Championship are as follows:

- a. Group Na <u>Class</u> <u>Capacity</u> Class A 3001cc and over Class B 1501 - 3000cc Class C 1101 - 1500cc Class D Up to 1100cc
- b. Group Nb

<u>Class</u>	<u>Capacity</u>	<u>Class</u>	<u>Capacity</u>
Class A1	Over 4500cc	Class D	1601 to 2000cc
Class A2	3001 to 4500cc	Class E	1301 to 1600cc
Class B	2601 to 3000cc	Class F	1001 to 1300cc
Class C	2001 to 2600cc	Class G	Up to 1000cc

c. Group Nc

<u>Class</u>	<u>Capacity</u>
Class A	Over 5100cc
Class B	3501cc - 5100cc
Class C	3001cc - 3500cc
Class D	2001cc - 3000cc
Class E	1501cc - 2000cc
Class F	1101cc - 1500cc
Class G	Up to 1100cc

5. Race Formats

- a. Each round of the WA HTC State Championship will comprise one qualifying session and up to a maximum of four races.
- b. Each race will commence from a standing start.
- c. Grid positions will be determined as follows:

Race 1: In order of qualifying times from fastest to slowest Race 2: Progressive Grid from race 1

Race 3: Progressive Grid from race 2 Race 4: Progressive Grid from race 3

d. Subject to the approval of the Category Organiser, a non-point scoring 'handicap' feature race, including those with reverse grid start formats, may be included in any round of the WA HTC State Championship providing at least two point-scoring races are conducted in that round.

- e. Once each year a non-point scoring race with a reverse grid format may be held in memory of the late Trevor Roy Young and included in a round of the Championship. Known as the Trevor Roy Young (TRY) Memorial Race, it will be coordinated by WAHTCC in association with the Event Organiser chosen by the WAHTCC. The WAHTCC will appoint a TRY Race Coordinator to assist the Clerk of Course to administer the running of the race. Participation in the TRY race is entirely at the discretion of the WAHTCC.
- f. The Category's participation as a support category for the Perth round of the Supercars championship may be included as a round of the WA HTC State Championship.

6. State Championship Annual Awards and Points Score

- Points will be allocated in each class and for outright position as per the 2024
 MOTORSPORT AUSTRALIA Western Australia Motor Race Championship Sporting Regulations 3.3 & 3.4 (i) Point Scores.
- b. 2024 Class Winners and Outright Winner will be determined on the basis of each competitor's six highest race meeting results from the total number of race meetings in which they competed. Should six or less race meeting be held, then the basis will be the total points accrued by each competitor.
- c. The Outright Winner will be the 2024 HTC State Champion.

7. Competition Numbers

Competition numbers will be allocated by the Category Organiser.

8. Race Receivers

All Historic Touring Car drivers may carry Receiver one-way direct radio receivers. These operate on Channel 001, 450.0000mhz.

Direct communication may be made from Race Control to each driver as may be required during each event.

A Radio Check may be made when drivers are in the Marshalling Area and drivers must acknowledge with a "thumbs up" through their open window.

Minimum communication will be at least, alert to "Track Open" whilst in the Marshalling Area, "Last Lap", and "Chequered Flag".

Any radio communication from Race Control to a driver is not regulatory and cannot override the trackside flag signals or start signals.

Communication from Race Control must be concise and stated at least twice. Examples are "Delayed Start or Aborted Start Go around", "Stalled Car stalled car!" and position if possible, "Yellow Flag Turn ?", "Oil on track Turn ?", "Slow Car between ?", "Red Flag return to ?", "Safety Car", "Black Flag Car No X"

9. Sponsors

- a. Vehicles shall carry any sponsorship signage in a clearly visible location as nominated by the Category Organiser for the championship sponsors.
- b. Signage will be in accordance with the Motorsport Australia 5th Category rule, 1.3 Paintwork and Signage.

c. Signage may include the following:

Front Windscreen – up to 20cm high by 80 cm wide Each side adjacent to the racing number – total of 600 cm² each side in up to four

- locations (above, below and each side of racing number)
- d. Failure to comply with clause 8a shall render the driver ineligible for points at any round where the decals are not carried and/or clearly visible.

10. Championship Rounds

Round	Venue	Date
1	Wanneroo	Sat 2 nd March
2	Collie	Icebreaker 23 rd or 24 th March
3	Wanneroo	Sun 14 th April
4	V8 Supercars	(Cancelled)
5	Wanneroo	21 st July
6	Collie	The Tyre Place Track Attack 17 th or 18 th August
7	Wanneroo	14 th and 15 th September
8	Collie VSCC	Coalfields 500 21 st and 22 nd September
9	Wanneroo	Sat 19 th October