Australia to open 2021 F1 season

Tuesday 10 November, 2020
Australia will host the 2021 FIA Formula 1 World Championship season opener.
Melbourne has retained its traditional position of hosting the opening round for the Formula 1 World Championship after the FIA confirmed the news as part of its 2021 provisional calendar release.
Taking place at Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit in Melbourne, the 2021 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix is scheduled to run on 18-21 March with official confirmation of the date to come within the coming weeks.
The 2021 provisional calendar sees the championship hold 21 different rounds starting with Australia in March and ending with Abu Dhabi in December.
With the calendar to be formally ratified by the FIA in the coming weeks, Formula 1 Chairman and CEO Chase Carey was thrilled to announce the calendar.
“We are excited to announce our 2021 provisional calendar and delighted we will be starting our season with our long-term partners in Melbourne,” Carey said.
“Andrew Westacott and his team do an incredible job and we know the season opener at Albert Park will be one that fans can safely enjoy after an unprecedented 2020.”
Australian Grand Prix Corporation CEO, Andrew Westacott echoed Carey’s comments and was looking forward to the event, which would be in line with the Victorian Government’s COVID-19 requirements.
“We’re thrilled that the 2021 FIA Formula 1 World Championship will commence at its traditional home here in Melbourne,” Westacott said.
“We continue to work closely with health authorities and the Victorian Government as we develop our plans for fan attendance, which will be announced when finalised. We’re adopting a sensible, adaptable and flexible approach, ensuring that a safe environment for fans and participants is our top priority.
“Our massive parkland venue with 10.6 km of track frontage provides us with the perfect opportunity to create a COVID-safe venue.”

The 2020 FIA Formula 1 World Championship season continues this weekend with the Turkish Grand Prix.

2021 Provisional Calendar

21 March - Australia
28 March - Bahrain11 April  - China25 April - TBC 
9 May - Spain*23 May - Monaco 6 June - Azerbaijan13 June - Canada27 June - France4 July - Austria18 July - United Kingdom1 August - Hungary29 August - Belgium5 September - Netherlands12 September - Italy 26 September - Russia3 October - Singapore 
10 October - Japan
24 October - USA31 October - Mexico14 November - Brazil 28 November - Saudi Arabia5 December - Abu Dhabi

**Subject to approval by the FIA World Motorsport Council

Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race