Tenths the difference in Vic Motorkhana battle

Tuesday 16 April, 2019
Photos: Brian Shanahan

The South Eastern Automobile Club has successfully held the third round of the 2019 NGK CAMS Victorian Motorkhana Championship as Tony Wallis claimed victory over 45 other competitors. 

Taking place at the Mt Gambier Saleyards, it was a thrilling end to the round as Wallis managed to steer his Mini Special to victory win by the smallest of margins over Delta Special pilot David Beames.

The two drivers were the stars of the day, both finishing with an accumulative total time of 297 seconds. However it was Wallis who ended the day on top with just four tenths of a second and went home as both the outright and Class F winner. 

Comfortably taking out the final spot in the top-three a further 10 seconds behind the leaders was Stephen Ormond who guided his Delta S2 Special eight seconds clear ahead of Blair Jones. 

Click here for the outright provisional standings. 

Rounding out the top five was another Delta Special pilot in Bill McCarty, his outright time landing him 16 seconds behind Jones. However like the battle for the top spot, the fifth place fight was just as close as Mike Exell equalled McCarthy's cumulative time of 332 seconds. 

With less than a second separating both drivers, it was McCarthy who ended the day on top, only six tenths of a second separated both drivers. Throughout the day there were a host of other close battles going on with less than a second between competitors. 

Behind outright seventh and Class A winner Craig Williams, Matthew Webb and Ed Wallis enjoyed an entertaining dual all day as the former managed to come out on top by three tenths. 

While there was a lot of suspense for positions in the top-10, the pick of the day was a further 20 positions behind as only two-tenths of a second separated Chris Hortop and Harry Wallis – the former coming out on top behind the wheel of his Audi A3. 

For the classes, outright 10th placed Mazda MX5 pilot Wayne Casey ended the day with Class B honours and Phillip Wilson steered the number one seeded car to 12th outright and a Class D victory. 

A further three spots behind Wilson on the outright standings was Honda Civic driver Andrew Lau who ended the day as Class C winner, while Jeff Salmon and his Subaru STI secured the Class E victory, 

Click here to view the full breakdown of results.

The next round of the 2019 NGK CAMS Victorian Motorkhana Championship takes place at Werribee Motorkhana Track on 11 May. 

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race