Maximum points for Red Bull HRT

Sunday 27 October, 2019
Photos: Mark Horsburgh
The Red Bull Holden Racing Team has capped off a brilliant weekend with back-to-back wins at the Vodafone Gold Coast 600.
With the Pirtek Enduro Cup in its second round for the 2019 season, the team had each of their cars cross the finish line first in both races with Shane van Gisbergen and Garth Tander winning Sunday’s race.
Trailing the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 runner-ups were teammates Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes, while David Reynolds and Luke Youlden rounded out Sunday’s podium.
With less than two tenths of a second separating the two Triple Eight Racing cars, van Gisbergen put his thrilling victory down to a bit of strategy and luck.
“We had the short tyre strategy and had to run them long at the end,” van Gisbergen said.
“I was struggling a little bit but trying to manage, then Dave put the pressure on and we had to speed up again.
“What an awesome weekend. Two one-twos for the Red Bull Holden Racing Team, it’s really special to be a part of it.
“Yesterday paid back today, it’s all about the team.”
The victory added to Whincup and Lowndes’ Saturday victory after both cars again finished first and second ahead of championship leader Scott McLaughlin and Alex Premat.

While Saturday’s finish was near identical to Sunday’s, the roles were reversed with Whincup holding off a charging van Gisbergen in the final stages.

“CL (Lowndes) did an amazing job to get us the lead of the race and a nice buffer,” Whincup said.
“I thought we were in a little bit of trouble there with that late Safety Car, but the car was good, we had pace, I couldn’t be happier.”
van Gisbergen’s solid weekend saw him bridge the gap on McLaughlin in the outright championship standings after the leader suffered a spectacular rollover during qualifying that saw him miss the race.
McLaughlin walked away from the crash and was hospitalised for observation and later released.
The final round of the Pirtek Enduro Cup, the Penrite Oil Sandown 500, takes place on 8-10 November.
Motorsport Australia: Return to Race