2020 Bathurst 12 Hour Mega Preview

Friday 31 January, 2020
It's going to be a big year in 2020 for the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour.
The first major national event of the year has arrived with drivers and motorsport fans from both Australia and around the world all in Bathurst for the 2020 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour.
It’s been a big lead up to the great race for teams and drivers alike as excitement builds for the first of five events at Mount Panorama this year.
With the big race on Sunday 2 February, motorsport.org.au previews the key facts for this weekend’s international weekend of racing.

The Main Event

It’s going to be a long day on Sunday for everyone involved, with the race beginning at 5:45am local time and finishing at 5:45pm.
Ahead of Sunday’s race, the main gamers will get five practice sessions on Friday and Saturday morning before completing qualifying and the top 10 shootout on Saturday afternoon.
For fans, there are plenty of ways to keep up with the action, both on television and online streaming. Fox Sports 506 will broadcast Saturday’s qualifying and shootout exclusively, as well as the entire race, ad-break free on Sunday.
For those without subscription television, the Seven network will also be showing Sunday’s race live and free on 7mate with coverage to begin at 5:30am AEDT.

The Support Categories

With the iconic Mount Panorama track often considered an honour to race on, the four categories supporting Sunday’s race will be battling hard to put on a show for travelling spectators.
This year, there will again be a range of different cars on track outside of the main race, with support categories including Aussie Racing Cars and Group C touring cars are new in 2020, while Combined Sports Sedans and Group S on the card again this year after impressing in 2019.
Aussie Racing Cars get the most action with four races, while Group S and the Combined Sports Sedans get three races each. There will be no racing for Group C - three demonstrations will instead be held across the two days.

Last Year

The 12 Hour race is always dramatic and 2019 was no different. Alongside Dirk Werner and Dennis Olsen in the Earl Bamber Motorsport prepared Porsche 911 GT3 R, Australian Matt Campbell found himself on the top step of the podium after a thrilling final 10 laps.
It all started with nine laps to go as the third placed Campbell chased down Raffaele Marciello and pulled off a brilliant move to take second place. Four laps later, Campbell did exactly the same thing on leader Jake Dennis to secure first place.

The Entry List

There is a vast amount of talent on this year’s entry list, ranging from homegrown heroes to international stars.

There will be 39 cars taking part in the 12-hour race, with 33 of them to compete across the three GT3 classes.

From Brazil to the USA, Great Britain to South Africa, the overseas driving talent is endless as more than 75 individuals from six different continents have made the journey to Australia. This list of drivers comprises of two LeMans winners, nine Nürburgring 24 winners and eight Spa 24 winners.
Home grown talent is just as strong, with over 40 drivers confirmed to compete. The 40 drivers include five Supercars champions, 19 Bathurst 1000 winners and a host of Motorsport Australia GT Champions.
Across the 39 teams, only six are all Australian, 19 feature just international drivers and 14 teams are made up of both.
Most notably, the reigning champion Earl Bamber Motorsport Porsche team has a completely different lineup to last year with Bamber in the driver’s seat this time around alongside Craig Lowndes and Laurens Vanthoor.

Campbell and Werner both return this year in different cars but for the same team in Absolute Racing, while their 2019 teammate Olsen is absent this year.

1 Earl Bamber Motorsport Earl Bamber Laurens Vanthoor Craig Lowndes Porsche GT3 R A-Pro
2 Audi Sport Team Valvoline Dries Vanthoor Christopher Haase Frederic Vervisch Audi R8 - LMS GT3 A-Pro
4 Grove Racing Stephen Grove Brenton Grove Benjamin Barker Porsche GT3 R A-PA
6 Wall Racing Adrian Deitz Antonio D'Alberto Julian Westwood Cameron McConville Lamborghini Hurracan GT3 A-SIL
7 Bentley Team M-Sport Jules Gounon Maxime Soulet Jordan Pepper Bentley Continental GT3 A-Pro
8 Bentley Team M-Sport Alex Buncombe Oliver Jarvis Sebastian Morris Bentley Continental GT3 A-Pro
9 Hallmarc Marc Cini Dean Fiore Lee Holdsworth Audi R8 - LMS GT3 A-PA
12 NED Racing Team David Calvert-Jones Romain Dumas Jaxon Evans Porsche GT3 R A-PA
18 KCMG Joao Paulo Lima De Oliveira Edoardo Liberati Alexandre Imperatori Nissan GTR Nismo GT3 A-Pro
22 Audi Sport Team Valvoline Garth Tander Chris Mies Mirko Bortolotti Audi R8 - LMS GT3 A-Pro
24 Bostik Australia Tony Bates Geoff Emery Max Twigg Dylan O'Keeffe Audi R8 - LMS GT3 A-SIL
27 Hub Auto Corsa Marcos Gomes Tim Slade Daniel Serra Ferrari 488 GT3 A-Pro
29 Trofeo Motorsport Liam Talbot Dean Canto Marcel Zalloua Grant Denyer Lamborghini Huracan GT3 A-SIL
30 Honda Racing Team JAS Dane Cameron Renger Van Der Zande Mario Farnbacher Acura/ Honda NSX GT3 A-Pro
34 Walkenhorst Motorsport Augusto Farfus Nicky Catsburg Chaz Mostert BMW M6 GT3 A-Pro
35 KCMG Josh Burdon Katsumasa Chiyo Tsugio Matsuda Nissan GTR Nismo GT3 A-Pro
46 Black Falcon Patrick Assenheimer Sergey Afanasiev Michele Beretta Mercedes AMG GT3 A-SIL
59 59Racing Dominic Storey Fraser Ross Martin Kodric McLaren 720S GT3 A-SIL
60 59Racing / EMA Racing Alvaro Parente Ben Barnicoat Tom Blomqvist McLaren 720S GT3 A-Pro
62 R - Motorsport Luca Ghiotto Marvin Kirchhoefer Oliver Caldwell Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT3 A-Pro
63 Orange 1 FFF Racing Team Andrea Caldarelli Marco Mapelli Dennis Lind Lamborghini Hurracan GT3 A-Pro
75 SunEnergy1 Racing Kenny Habul Dominik Baumann Martin Konrad David Reynolds Mercedes AMG GT3 A-PA
76 R - Motorsport Jake Dennis Rick Kelly Scott Dixon Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT3 A-Pro
77 Mercedes-AMG Team Craft-Bamboo Black Falcon Maro Engel Luca Stolz Yelmer Buurman Mercedes AMG GT3 A-Pro
96 Hobson Motorsport Brett Hobson Kurt Kostecki Garth Walden Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 A-SIL
159 Garage 59 Andrew Watson Olivier Hart Roman De Angelis Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT3 A-SIL
188 Garage 59 Alexander West Chris Goodwin Come Ledogar Maxime Martin Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT3 A-PA
222 Audi Sport Team Valvoline Kelvin Van der Linde Mattia Drudi Markus Winkelhock Audi R8 - LMS GT3 A-Pro
777 The Bend Motorsport Park Yasser Shahin Nick Foster Anton De Pasquale Sam Shahin Mercedes AMG GT3 A-PA
888 Mercedes-AMG Team Triple Eight Race Engineering Shane Van Gisbergen Jamie Whincup Maximilian Götz Mercedes AMG GT3 A-Pro
911 Absolute Racing Mathieu Jaminet Patrick Pilet Matt Campbell Porsche GT3 R A-Pro
912 Absolute Racing Dirk Werner Matteo Cairoli Thomas Preining Porsche GT3 R A-Pro
999 Mercedes-AMG Team GruppeM Racing Felipe Fraga Maximilian Buhk Raffaele Marciello Mercedes AMG GT3 A-Pro
13 RHC Jorgensen / Strom Daren E. Jorgensen Brett Strom Danny van Dongen BMW M4 GT4 C-GT4
19 Nineteen Corp Harrison Newey Mark Griffith Dirk Muller Mercedes AMG GT4 C-GT4
20 T2 Racing Adam Hargraves Cedric Sbirrazzuoli Daniel Jilesen Steve Owen MARC II I-Inv
91 SCANDIA Racing - by Racer Industries Aaron Cameron Broc Feeney Nick Percat MARC II I-Inv
92 SCANDIA Racing - by Racer Industries Hadrian Morrall Tyler Everingham James Kaye MARC II I-Inv
95 MARC Cars Australia Geoff Taunton Bayley Hall Warren Luff Brad Schumacher MARC II I-Inv
Motorsport Australia: Return to Race