Supercars Super Preview: Sydney Motorsport Park

Thursday 25 June, 2020
Photos: Edge Photographics/Supercars
Like all sport, it’s been a lengthy lay off for the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship but after four months, the championship returns with Sydney Motorsport Park to host the BP Ultimate Sydney SuperSprint this weekend.

Since last time

Welcome back Supercars
When Saturday morning arrives and the pit lane opens for the first practice session, there will be a lot of relieved motorsport fans around the country as the track action marks a return to racing.
Supercars has the honour of being the first national category in the country to restart its season since the COVID-19 pandemic swept through the world and government restrictions were put in place across the country. 
It’s been a long four months, however with the BPUltimate Supercars All Star Eseries keeping drivers and fans occupied for 10 weeks during the lockdown period, it gave enthusiasts plenty to look forward to each week as the country waited on a new calendar. 
Now, thanks to the hard work of all those involved, Australia can finally enjoy real world racing again at the highest level. 
Calendar update
As the 2020 season was put on hold due to various restrictions for sporting events, Supercars has since made multiple adjustments to its 2020 calendar in order to meet the state and federal government requirements for running events in a safe manner.

While the Newcastle and Gold Coast street circuit rounds, OTR The Bend Supersprint and ITM Auckland SuperSprint were some of the casualties of the rejigged championship, most events are still taking place.

With Supercars restarting at Sydney Motorsport Park this weekend, the Eastern Creek circuit will play host Australia’s biggest championship twice this year, with the season to finish off at the NSW venue under lights in December.

The only event to have survived any form of change is the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, with the great race to continue in its traditional October timeslot.

Farewell Will
It’s not a regular occurrence for drivers and teams to change during a season, however 2020 has already proved to be incredibly unique.
So when 23Red Racing announced in May it would be unable to continue its life in Supercars, it sent shockwaves around the competition as popular competitor Will Davison was also forced out of a Supercars full-time drive as a result. 
It was a bitter pill to swallow for Davison who had put in a brilliant effort in Adelaide to finish fifth for the round. Not long after his withdrawal, James Courtney essentially replaced the Victorian in the field. 
Davison’s exit came a couple of months after his brother Alex had signed up as Courtney’s replacement for Team Sydney, joining Chris Pither in the new outfit’s two car line up.

Championship Top 10

1 Scott McLaughlin 288 points
2 Jamie Whincup 261
3 Chaz Mostert 234
4 Cameron Waters 231
5 David Reynolds 210
6 Lee Holdsworth 171
7 Mark Winterbottom 162
=7 Fabian Coulthard 162
9 Rick Kelly 150
=9 Andre Heimgartner 150

Last Round – Superloop Adelaide 500

Race 1 
Pole: Jamie Whincup
Winner: Jamie Whincup
Runner Up: Scott McLaughlin
Third: Shane van Gisbergen
Race 2
Pole: Shane van Gisbergen
Winner: Scott McLaughlin
Runner Up: Chaz Mostert

Third: Cameron Waters


The Grid

#2 Holden Commodore ZB - Bryce Fullwood
#3 Holden Commodore ZB - Macauley Jones
#4 Holden Commodore ZB - Jack Smith
#5 Ford Mustang - Lee Holdsworth
#6 Ford Mustang - Cameron Waters
#7 Ford Mustang - Andre Heimgartner
#8 Holden Commodore ZB - Nick Percat
#9 Holden Commodore ZB - David Reynolds
#12 Ford Mustang - Fabian Coulthard
#14 Holden Commodore ZB - Todd Hazelwood
#15 Ford Mustang - Rick Kelly
#17 Ford Mustang - Scott McLaughlin
#18 Holden Commodore ZB - Mark Winterbottom
#19 Holden Commodore ZB – Alex Davison
#20 Holden Commodore ZB - Scott Pye
#22 Holden Commodore ZB - Chris Pither
#25 Holden Commodore ZB - Chaz Mostert
#34 Holden Commodore ZB - Jake Kostecki
#35 Holden Commodore ZB - Garry Jacobson
#44 Ford Mustang – James Courtney
#55 Ford Mustang - Jack Le Brocq
#88 Holden Commodore ZB - Jamie Whincup
#97 Holden Commodore ZB - Shane van Gisbergen
#99 Holden Commodore ZB - Anton De Pasquale

Supercars’ Schedule

Saturday 27 June
10:20 – 10:40 Rookie Practice
11:00 – 11:30 Practice 1
12:00 – 12:30 Practice 2
13:15 – 13:40 ARMOR ALL Qualifying Race  – Race 7
13:50 – 14:30 ARMOR ALL Top 15 Shootout – Race 7
15:30 – 16:30 Race 7
Sunday 28 June
13:15 – 13:40 ARMOR ALL Qualifying Race  – Race 8
11:30 - 18:30 ARMOR ALL Qualifying Race  – Race 9
12:15 – 13:25 Race 8
14:35 – 15:35 Race 9
(All times listed are Sydney local times (AEST)  
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race