Quinn wins Targa Great Barrier Reef

Sunday 06 September, 2020
Photo: That Camera Guy
Tony Quinn has added another piece of silverware to his impressive trophy cabinet after taking out this weekend’s Targa Great Barrier Reef.
With 50 crews battling it out in the Motorsport Australia Targa Championship’s season opener around north Queensland, it was the Motorsport Australia GT Championship veteran who proved too good over the three days.
His biggest threat came through RSEA Safety Motorsport Australia Rally Championship regular Luke Anear and co-driver Andy Sarandis with the duo providing a solid challenge during the opening two days.
However their charge lasted just two stages into the final day after Anear unfortunately saw his new Mercedes AMG GT R end up off the road and out of contention.
Anear’s exit from the event opened the door up for speed limited class winners Wayne Udy and Mia Williams to steer their GT Trophy Class Lotus Exige to finish as surprise runners-up, while Andrew Horn and Sally Coning rounded out the podium, with the 1998 Mitsubishi Evo V drivers also securing the Dutton Garage Early Modern 4 class.
For Quinn, it was a faultless performance behind the wheel of his 2018 Nissan GT-R R35 after the Queenslander had led the pack from day one and the two-time Targa Tasmania winner was thrilled to come away with the win.
“We just kept it nice and clean on the long stages today and the rest took care of itself,” Quinn said.
“It is a real thrill to win TARGA Great Barrier Reef which is a great event that has a positive effect on the local community.
“The Nissan didn’t miss a beat over the three days and is really suited to the roads around Cairns.”
Other notable results saw Darryl and Peter Marshall claim the Cairns Regional Council TSD Trophy, Victorians Peter Gluskie and Samantha Winter comfortably take out the Shannons Classic Handicap and Steve Van der Brug and co-driver Linda Rankine Cairns Regional Council GT Production.
Tim and Kym Hall landed the honours in Shannons Thoroughbred Trophy.
More details of the 2020 Motorsport Australia Targa Championship will be released in the coming weeks. 
Motorsport Australia: Return to Race