Admiraal claims SA Khancross title

Tuesday 15 September, 2020
Photos: Tony Donoghue

South Australian rally regular Zayne Admiraal has continued his recent run of good form with victory in the 2020 Motorsport Australia SA Khanacross Championship. 

The increase of popularity for the discipline was on show during the state event, with a full field of 60 competitors in attendance at Mid Murray Motorplex, all of whom finished the available five tests.

However it was Admiraal who proved to be too good in his rally prepared WRX after knocking off a host of khanacross stars, including previous national champions Bradley and Michael Clements, who rounded out the podium.

It took a little while for Admiraal to get properly going but once he finally won the event’s third run of the day, he never looked like losing the title and went on to comfortably post the fastest time on the final two runs.

His biggest challenge came through the Clements family with 2018 Motorsport Australia Khanacross Champion Bradley claiming the outright second run and finishing in the top three for every other run.

It wouldn’t be enough though as Admiraal recorded one-second third and fourth run wins, before the 2019 Motorsport Australia SA Rally champion posted a final run time two and half seconds faster than Bradley to extend his total time to more than five and half seconds.

Click here to view the full results.

The battle for third place came down to the final stage as Michael Clements, who was the 2017 Motorsport Australia Khanacross Champion, snatched the final podium placing from teenage sensation Lachlan Tillett.

After the 18-year-old had produced a string of strong results in the opening runs behind the wheel of his VW Golf, Michael’s consistency to stay within reach of Tillett paid off when his fifth run runner-up was enough to earn him outright third place. 

Tillett’s best run came in the first when he finished just behind Admiraal, but tapered off towards the end of the event. Despite missing out on a podium by just one and half seconds, Tillett didn't go home empty handed after he claimed the Class E title.

Rounding out the top five was run one winner and the youngest member of the powerful Clements family in Adam. Like Tillett, the youngster showed a lot of fight throughout the event and proved his skill when he fended off a late charge from SA rally driver Guy Tyler. 

The battle for class honours were also quite entertaining Graeme Pound clinched the Class B title on the final run, Damien Rollond won Class C, former SDCC Khanacross series champion Molly Spalding took Class D honours and Neil Jamieson just won the F class. At the top, Admiraal came away with the Class G victory, while Bradley took out the MP class ahead of Adam and Tyler.

Other notable results saw Tanya Tillett take out the Ladies Trophy, Jaxon Rippon fastest of the juniors over 16-years-old and Rhys Rollond the best of the under 16-year-olds. 

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race