Webber receives prestigious state honour

Thursday 17 December, 2020
Photos: Red Bull Content Pool
Mark Webber is the latest motorsport name to be recognised, after the former Formula 1 star was inducted into the New South Wales Hall of Champions. 
Paying homage to the state’s elite athletes who go above and beyond in their discipline, the Hall of Champions inducted Webber for his efforts in Formula 1 and the World Endurance Championship (WEC).
A mainstay in the FIA Formula 1 Championship between 2002 and 2013, Webber enjoyed nine wins, 42 podiums, 13 pole positions, 19 fastest laps and amassed more than 1000 career points during his 217 race career. 

Webber came close to a world F1 title on three occasions where he placed third in all three seasons – the most notable being in 2010 when he finished just 14 points behind Red Bull Racing teammate Sebastian Vettel. 

Moving into the FIA WEC in 2014, it took just two years for Webber to win his first ever international title with the New South Welshman taking out the 2015 championship alongside New Zealander Brendan Hartley and German Timo Bernhard, which included four race wins and a second place at the prestigious 24 Hour of Le Mans. 
Retiring in 2016 having won another four races in the WEC, Webber became a F1 pundit on British network, Channel Four where he has been ever since and was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2017.
Motorsport Australia CEO Eugene Arocca congratulated Webber on his latest achievement.
“Mark is a fantastic ambassador for our sport and our country having been successful across a range of top level categories over a long period of time,” Arocca said.
“Not only did he enjoy an impressive career behind the wheel, but he has also contributed off the track through a variety of charities and mentoring young athletes.

“He is very deserving of his Hall of Champions induction, so on behalf of all us at Motorsport Australia, a big congratulations to Mark Webber.”

Webber was one of five individuals to be inducted into the Hall of Champions with Naomi Flood (Surf Lifesaving/Kayaking), Harry Williams (Football), Mick Fanning AO (Surfing) and Kerri Pottharst OAM (Volleyball), while Rugby Union champion Mark Ella AM was elevated to legend status.
All five inductees and Ella will be publicly congratulated at the 2021 NSW Hall of Champions event in November next year.  
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race