Motorsport Australia recognises states’ best

Wednesday 03 February, 2021
The Motorsport Australia State Awards have been confirmed with multiple winners from every state.
Photo: Shifting Focus
Motorsport Australia is pleased to confirm the recipients of multiple awards as part of the 2020 Motorsport Australia State Awards season.
As announced last month, most 2020 awards ceremonies will not be taking place this year as a result of the changing restrictions surrounding gathering numbers and COVID-19.
However, despite not all ceremonies taking place, individuals across multiple states are still being acknowledged for their efforts last year, as well as their contributions to the sport as a whole.
While not every award usually presented at the gala dinners is being announced given a lack of events in 2020, three of the major categories in the Official of the Year, Service Stars and Service Awards have been confirmed.
Victoria and New South Wales led the way in terms of award giving with both states announcing recipients for all three awards, while South Australia, Queensland and the Northern Territory named two awards and both Western Australia and Tasmania  announced their Official of the Year award recipients.
It may just be the one award, but Western Australia honoured two people as their Official of the Year with Lynn and Ross Oxwell sharing the award having done so much for rallying in the state for many years.
The Oxwells weren’t the only rally associated recipients of the Official of the Year award, as RSEA Safety Motorsport Australia Rally Championship regular and  South Eastern Automobile Club President Kevin Raedel took out the South Australian official top gong. Both a fierce competitor and highly competent administrator for the popular club, Raedel’s hands-on approach in 2020 at multiple state and grassroots events made him a worthy recipient of the award.
Another outstanding performer and key figure for their local club was Victorian Official of the Year, Nicholas Scarcella. An outstanding contributor to the Phillip Island Auto Racing Club last year, the club Vice President went above and beyond in assisting the organisation of events in its return to racing, including the club’s long awaited return to motorsport in November.
Victoria also presented three service awards and one service star, as did New South Wales who acknowledged four individuals with service awards and one service star. 
As for the NSW Official of the Year, Olive Robinson was recognised  after more than 36 years as a loyal servant to her club and its motorsport events of all levels. Having served on the New South Wales Panel for the past 10 years, the always enthusiastic and reliable Robinson has also spent time recently doing administration work. 
The final official to be recognised as the standout in 2020 was Tasmania’s Matthew von Bertouch. A key member of the Rally Tasmania organising ream and being  primarily responsible for the setting of the course, von Bertouch has been a vital administrator for the Motor Sports Club of Tasmania, organising a range of grassroot and state events for many years.  
Queensland was the only state to hold an informal awards night this year and recognised the 12 state champions from circuit and hill climbs series. The state also awarded five service awards and one service star. 
The Northern Territory awarded five individuals with service awards and one service star for their contributions to motorsport.    
Motorsport Australia President Andrew Fraser congratulated all the state award recipients  in what was a challenging year.
“It’s been said many times before but last year was extremely difficult on many fronts and there were plenty of individuals around the country who rolled up their sleeves and carried on with the job at hand,” Fraser said.
“So honouring these State Officials of the Year is due recognition for their outstanding efforts and something they should all be immensely proud of.
“As for all the Service Award and Service Star recipients, motorsport would not be in the position that it is if it wasn’t for the many passionate officials, administrators and members who contribute so much to the sport.

“So on behalf of Motorsport Australia, I would like to congratulate all state Officials of the Year, Service Star and Service Award winners for 2020.”

State Motorsport Australia Awards

Official of the Year
Western Australia
Lynn & Ross Oxwell
South Australia
Kevin Raedel
New South Wales
Olive Robinson
Nicholas Scarcella
Matthew von Bertouch
Motorsport Australia Service Award
Brendon Bye
Chris Clark
Matthew Belcombe
John Keen
Clay Weston
Jon Siddins
Robert John Careless (AKA John)
Stephen Davies
Northern Territory
Steven Coyte
Phillip & Leonie Kerr
Chris & Deb McCormack
South Australia
Louise Smith
Paul (Karo) Karamanov
Tony Aloi
Cathy Croci
Steve Croci
William 'Bill' Hobbs
New South Wales
Andrew Collier
John Young
Nicholas Nikiforoff
David Healy
Motorsport Australia Service Star
Hannah Holloway
Northern Territory
Jake Kroonstuiver
New South Wales
Robert Hockley
Ian Mayberry


Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race