Supercars Super Preview: Winton

Wednesday 26 May, 2021
Photo: Edge Photographics
The Repco Supercars Championship is back for the Winton Supersprint this weekend. 
After competing at The Bend Motorsport Park earlier this month, the championship now turns its attention to the Winton Motor Raceway, which last held a Supercars round two years ago. 
While some other circuits around the country haven’t seen any Supercars action on their roads since 2019, the Victorian circuit has been the site of multiple testing days– the most recent last week, where multiple Victorians teams cut laps of the track. 
Last time an official round was held at Winton, three-time champion Scott McLaughlin picked up the two wins, which formed part of his season-high six-race winning streak. 
Current championship leader Shane van Gisbergen didn’t have as successful a weekend out – the New Zealander placing in the top 10 in both races but unable to secure a win.
A lot has changed since Winton last held a Supercars round and while van Gisbergen comfortably leads the standings over his Triple Eight teammate Jamie Whincup, six different winners from the last six races seem to suggest the season is starting to open up. 
Unlike 2019, there will be three races spread across the weekend as opposed to just one on each day and the event will welcome five support categories to the fold – making it a jam-packed schedule.  
At this point in time, spectators are able attend the race meeting with general admin, park and view, corporate and camping packages all still available. Any changes to the event will be communicated in the coming days.
For fans unavailable to attend, Foxtel and its online streaming service Kayo will be broadcasting both days, while highlights will be available on 7plus. 
The 2021 Winton Supersprint takes place at Winton Motor Raceway on 28-30 May.


Saturday 29 May
8:40-9:10am – Practice 1
11:00-11:40am – Practice 2
1:20-1:40pm – Armor All Qualifying Race 12
3:50-5:00pm – Race 12
Sunday 30 May
8:55-9:05am – Armor All Qualifying Race 13
9:15-9:25am – Armor All Qualifying Race 14
12:15-1:25pm – Race 13
3:35-4:45pm – Race 14
(All times are marked as AEST)

Support Categories

Dunlop Super2 Series
GC Marine Australian Prototype Series
Haltech SuperUte Series
Toyota Gazoo Racing Australia 86 Series
Excel Series 

Championship Top 10

Shane van Gisbergen - 1112 points
Jamie Whincup - 922
Chaz Mostert - 866
Will Davison - 861
Cameron Waters - 848
Mark Winterbottom - 697
Anton De Pasquale - 648
Andre Heimgartner - 646
Nick Percat - 617
Brodie Kostecki - 615

The Grid

#2 Holden Commodore ZB - Bryce Fullwood
#3 Ford Mustang - Tim Slade
#4 Holden Commodore ZB - Jack Smith
#5 Ford Mustang - Jack Le Brocq
#6 Ford Mustang - Cameron Waters
#7 Ford Mustang - Andre Heimgartner
#8 Holden Commodore ZB - Nick Percat
#9 Holden Commodore ZB - Will Brown
#11 Ford Mustang - Anton De Pasquale
#14 Holden Commodore ZB - Todd Hazelwood
#17 Ford Mustang - Will Davison
#18 Holden Commodore ZB - Mark Winterbottom
#19 Holden Commodore ZB - Fabian Coulthard
#20 Holden Commodore ZB - Scott Pye
#22 Holden Commodore ZB - Garry Jacobson
#25 Holden Commodore ZB - Chaz Mostert
#26 Ford Mustang - David Reynolds
#34 Holden Commodore ZB - Jake Kostecki
#35 Holden Commodore ZB - Zane Goddard
#44 Ford Mustang - James Courtney
#88 Holden Commodore ZB - Jamie Whincup
#96 Holden Commodore ZB - Macauley Jones
#97 Holden Commodore ZB - Shane van Gisbergen
#99 Holden Commodore ZB - Brodie Kostecki
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race