Supercars ready for AGP return

Wednesday 06 April, 2022
Photos: Edge Photographics
The Repco Supercars Championship to make its long awaited return to the international stage at Albert Park this weekend as part of the Formula 1 Heineken Australian Grand Prix.
The Beaurepaires Melbourne 400 will see Australia’s best race alongside the best in the world at a new look circuit, which could deliver plenty of surprises across four days of on track action.
There’s been plenty of news since the Supercars’ last round, the Ned Whiskey Tasmanian Supersprint, including an impressive showing by current championship leader Shane van Gisbergen in the RSEA Safety Motorsport Australia Rally Championship’s opening round, where he finished second.
This weekend’s format is unique to the Australian Grand Prix round with four 10-minute qualifying sessions setting up four 45-minute races. 
Thursday will feature two practice sessions and two qualifying sessions, while the remaining two qualifying sessions will be followed by the round’s first race on Friday.
Saturday hosts two races before the final outing of the weekend runs as the last official support category race leading into Formula 1’s third Grand Prix for the year.
With the weekend to act as the second mixed tyre compound round for the year, in addition to the new track layout and a handful of drivers making their Supercars Albert Park debut – it makes for an unpredictable weekend.
Although the likes of Will Brown, Brodie Kostecki, Broc Feeney, Thomas Randle, Jake Kostecki and Jack Smith will be those who will run in a Supercar at Albert Park the first time, many know the facility well. 
One driver who has had many starts at Albert Park is James Courtney, with the Tickford Racing star to reach 500 race starts this weekend. 
When the New South Welshman lines up for the first race on Friday afternoon, he will become just the ninth driver in Australian Touring Car Championship history to reach the 500-race milestone. 
During his 19-year career in the sport, Courtney has managed to win a race at Albert Park, albeit before the event was for official championship points, an honour he shares with five other current drivers. 
In Supercars' 76 races as a support category in the Australian Grand Prix, van Gisbergen and Mark Winterbottom boast the second most wins there ever with seven apiece, while Chaz Mostert, David Reynolds and Scott Pye have also managed to enjoy success at the famous stage.  
Those five will be looking to add to their previous victories this weekend along with every other driver with not only valuable championship points on offer this weekend.
The driver with the best result of the weekend will be rewarded with the Larry Perkins Perpetual Trophy, an awarded honouring Larry Perkins, who started 11 Formula 1 races between 1976 and 1977.
The Beaurepaires Melbourne 400 takes place as part of the Formula 1 Heineken Australian Grand Prix on 7-10 April. 

Championship Top 10 (after Ned Whiskey Tasmanian Supersprint)
1. Shane van Gisbergen - 562 points
2. Anton De Pasquale - 495
3. Will Davison - 440
4. Chaz Mostert - 417
5. Brodie Kostecki - 387
6. Broc Feeney - 382
7. Cameron Waters - 382
8. Will Brown - 316
9. David Reynolds - 311
10. Tim Slade - 306
Thursday 7 April 
11:05am-11:40 - Practice 1
12:30pm - 1:00pm - Practice 2
3:00pm - 3:10pm – Armor All Qualifying Race 6
3:20pm - 3:30pm – Armor All Qualifying Race 7
Friday 8 April
09:40am - 09:50am - Armor All Qualifying Race 8
10:00am - 10:10am - Armor All Qualifying Race 9
2:20pm - 3:05pm – Race 6
Saturday 9 April
10:25am - 11:10am – Race 7
2:20pm - 3:05pm - Race 8
Sunday 10 April
12:00pm - 12:45pm – Race 9
(All times are marked as AEST)
Last podiums at Albert Park (2019)
Race 1 
1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Fabian Coulthard
3. Cameron Waters
Race 2 
1. Scott McLaughlin 
2. Chaz Mostert
3. Cameron Waters
Race 3
1. Chaz Mostert
2. Jamie Whincup
3. Tim Slade
Race 4 
1. Scott McLaughlin
2. Chaz Mostert
3. Jamie Whincup
Entry List
Walkinshaw Andretti United
#2 Holden Commodore ZB - Nick Percat 
#25 Holden Commodore ZB - Chaz Mostert 
Tim Blanchard Racing
#3 Ford Mustang - Tim Slade 
Brad Jones Racing
#4 Holden Commodore ZB - Jack Smith 
#8 Holden Commodore ZB - Andre Heimgartner
#14 Holden Commodore ZB - Bryce Fullwood 
#96 Holden Commodore ZB - Macauley Jones 
Tickford Racing
#5 Ford Mustang - James Courtney 
#6 Ford Mustang - Cameron Waters 
#55 Ford Mustang – Thomas Randle
#56 Ford Mustang - Jake Kostecki
Grove Racing
#10 Ford Mustang - Lee Holdsworth
#26 Ford Mustang - David Reynolds 
Erebus Motorsport
#9 Holden Commodore ZB - Will Brown 
#99 Holden Commodore ZB - Brodie Kostecki
Dick Johnson Racing
#11 Ford Mustang - Anton De Pasquale 
#17 Ford Mustang - Will Davison 
Team 18
#18 Holden Commodore ZB - Mark Winterbottom 
#20 Holden Commodore ZB - Scott Pye 
PremiAir Racing
#22 Holden Commodore ZB - Chris Pither
#76 Holden Commodore ZB - Garry Jacobson
Matt Stone Racing
#34 Holden Commodore ZB – Jack Le Brocq  
#35 Holden Commodore ZB – Todd Hazelwood 
Triple Eight Race Engineering
#88 Holden Commodore ZB - Broc Feeney 
#97 Holden Commodore ZB - Shane van Gisbergen
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race