Leading drivers dominant latest NSW Motor Racing round

Tuesday 28 June, 2022
Photos: Freelance Pix
The Motorsport Australia New South Wales Motor Race Championship had its fourth race meeting for the year on the weekend with more than 150 cars taking part.
Held at Sydney Motorsport Park, there were seven categories enjoying plenty of track action across the day, with each getting between two and four races throughout the round.
Despite every field having good numbers attending, six of them were dominated by just one driver, while the remaining two had some good battles as crew battled for their respective round wins.
One of those categories was the 41-car Production Touring Car Championship where Matt Boylan took out overall honours courtesy of a second-place finish in the Driver A race and a victory in the combined final race.

It was an impressive effort considering he qualified in seventh and had to make up plenty of ground in his opening race before beating Cameron Crick by less than one second in the final race.
In the other entertaining category, the HQ Holdens, there were two different winners across the three races with Glen Deering converting his pole position to a race one win.
Highlighting the closeness of the category and the safety car’s late intervention, less than one second split Deering with the fourth placed John Baxter as the second placed Matt Barker came across the line just one and a half tenths behind.
Baxter ended up winning the remaining two races, having beaten Deering in the second outing by just seven tenths, while race three runner-up Luke Harrison got even closer, having finished behind Baxter by just three tenths of a second.

In the remaining six categories, it was clean sweeps across the board with the most notable being in the Industrie Clothing NSW Supersports Championship.
Fresh from a memorable debut in the GC Marine Australian Prototype Series last month, Ryan Godfrey showcased his blistering pace in his car with three wins over fellow Jam Motorsport competitors and APS rivals Mark Laucke and John Paul Drake.
Backing up their performances from the State championship’s previous round’s outing, Formula Vee winner Craig Sparke and Improved Production Over 2 Litres victor Trevan Spiteri each walked away with three wins from three faces.

Running in the same Improved Production grid were the Under 2 Litres class, which was won by Kurt Macready, who bounced back from a disappointing previous outing with a perfect weekend. 
It was a similar story in Superkarts’s four races with Ilya Harpas guiding his #1 Anderson Maverick  to four wins, while Marcel Zalloua took out two from Production Sports Cars’ two races – enjoying both an extremely tight three-tenths win and a comfortably two second victory.
The Championship returns to Sydney Motorsport Park in just over a month for the fifth round of the 2022 season on 6-7 August.  

Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App