Drama aplenty in SA Motor Race Championships

Tuesday 12 July, 2022
Photos: Bob Taylor
The 2022 Motorsport Australia SCCSA State Motor Racing Championship season continued on the weekend with Mallala Raceway hosting up to 100 competitors in a jam packed schedule across two days.
With nine categories spread over seven grids making up the third round of the season, there was plenty of drama to occur throughout as fans were treated to some fantastic battles in each category.
Unlike previous rounds, there were very few clean sweeps across the weekend with just three drivers dominating their respective fields.
One of the largest fields came through the PCSA Supersprint which had three official sessions take place on Sunday and it was Greg Keene who guided his Porsche GT2RS to the fastest time in all three sessions - his 1:13.1006 in the opener remaining unbeaten for the whole day.
The other category clean sweeps saw Daniel Westcott win all five Formula Vee races and Asher Johnston for the event’s biggest field, the Hyundai Excels.

Just missing out on a perfect weekend in their respective category was Ian Wilson, who won four out of five Sports Cars races, while Mark Pearce took out the final race.
Another driver to fall short of a clean sweep was Shawn Jamieson, who steered his Holden Commodore VY to four wins in the combined Saloon Cars/HQ Holdens/GPN class, the category’s final race being won by Scott Dornan.
The field’s other exciting battle came through the Holden HQ class with Lee Smith winning three races over Anthony Bobridge, who won the other two outings.
It was a similar story in the Improved Production Class with Adam Allan winning three races in his Nissan Bluebird, while another Nissan driver in Scott Cook won the remaining two races.
Neither Cook or Allan secured pole during qualifying – that honour going to Michael Hazelton – however Allan ended up taking the opening win after Cook retired and Hazelton dropped to fifth.

Although Cook’s road to recovery in the category’s second race, the Michael Rooke Memorial, proved a gallant effort and his best outing coming after charging through the field, the damage had already been done as Allan’s victories proved too good.
The final category of the weekend was Racing Cars and the category saw different narratives on different days – Bo Jensen with three race wins on the Saturday and Andrew Ford with both of Sunday’s race wins.
The fourth round of the Motorsport Australia SCCSA State Motor Racing Championship takes place at The Bend Motorsport Park on 17-18 September.



Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App