Noel enjoys Moore success in WA State Speed Series

Tuesday 12 July, 2022
Photos: Sport Pixx Sport Photography
The Motorsport Australia WA State Speed Series ran its eighth and ninth round at Collie Motorplex on the weekend with John Webb and Noel Moore enjoying top honours in each.
With the series having had multiple rounds cancelled in 2022, Collie Motorplex was a welcome return to action with 57 people entered in Saturday’s long sprint and 46 entered in Sunday’s short sprint.
Lots of rain in the lead up to the weekend made for difficult preparation for the teams and drivers, and the rain never went away entirely across both days offering a challenge to all those entered.
Although the first couple of groups got to enjoy a dry line as the rain slowed down, the heavens opened up not long after the first run of groups – causing a range of issues for drivers who struggled to get a hold of the weather.
Moore and Webb were both good enough to post some solid times earlier on with the former producing a time of 1:19.5956 on his second lap, which remained unbeaten until event organisers called it a day in the afternoon as a result of the rain getting too heavy.
Webb ultimately finished sixth tenths slower than Moore in second place, while Bevan Cook steered his Ford Escort to third a further two seconds off the pace.
Click here to view results from Saturday.
Sunday’s shorter sprint was when Webb got to enjoy another victory for the season and the Radical SR3 RSX pilot did it in style, having gone almost two seconds faster than the next fastest driver, Brent Matthews.
Having 14 runs of the course, Webb posted his best time of 46.593 seconds on his last attempt, despite having been fastest for the previous six runs.

For Matthews, his fastest run of the shorter course saw him steer his Westfield SE came on his seventh attempt as he edged Ray Ferrari by half a second to notch up a runner-up finish.
One second behind Ferrari was Saturday’s winner in Moore who enjoyed a thrilling battle with Lib Palermo, only for the Mercedes-AMG A 45 driver to win by just over one tenth of a second.
Click here to view results from Sunday.
The next round of the Motorsport Australia WA State Speed Series the Point 2 Point at Wanneroo Raceway on 3 September.
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App