Bathurst International: Sunday wrap

Sunday 13 November, 2022
Read how the final day of the Supercheap Auto Bathurst International went.

Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series

Tony D’Alberto has been officially crowned as the 2022 Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series champion in a final day of the season that went right down to the wire.
After the first race of the day was declared a non-event due to heavy rain, the weekend’s final 20-lap race was eventually run setting up a mouth-watering climax to an already entertaining season.
And the final outing certainly delivered as there was plenty of drama throughout, beginning with race leader Dylan O’Keefe hitting a wall on the opening lap.
Although D’Alberto needed to finish 12th or higher to secure the title, there were points during the race where he found himself as low as 13th, while title contender Will Brown needed to win and was pushing hard.
Taking the lead after a brilliant move on Aaron Cameron and with D’Alberto sitting below 12th, Brown found himself as series leader with a two-point advantage in the middle stint.
However fortune would favour D’Alberto as the eventual demise of Jordan Cox and Ben Bargwanna saw the series leader cross the line into 11th, which proved enough to seal the title by just two points.
Brown would ultimately win the race and finish second overall, while Bailey Sweeney, who had snatched the lead from the Queenslander at one point, finished second by one and half seconds.
Rounding out the race’s podium was title contender Josh Buchan, who rounded out the top three for the overall season as a result.

Australian Prototype Series

The Prototypes were the first category to run on Sunday morning and it was Kai Allen who found himself back on top of the mountain again. 
The Radical driver was in a league of his own during the final outing of the weekend, as he eventually crossed the line 36 seconds ahead of 2022 GC Marine Australian Prototype Series champion, John Paul Drake.
Drake himself enjoyed a comfortable run to second place with Ricki Capo 16 seconds off the pace – the Praga R1 driver edging out Neal Muston by just one second in what was the most exciting duel for the race. 
In winning the finale, Allen ended up with top honours over Capo by six points, while Drake made up the round podium a further three points behind.

Australian Production Cars 

Jimmy Vernon won the fourth and final race of the Australian Production Cars Series on Sunday morning in what proved a dramatic seven laps with five DNFs. 
Remarkably, Vernon kept the Hunter Pacific Ceiling Fans Mitsubishi Evo in the lead from the first lap, ultimately preventing the dominant Russells from winning any races this weekend. 
Despite Drew Russell finishing second place in the Go-Karts-Go BMW F80 M3, the Russells still came away with the eventual round win – sealing Drew and Wayne the 2022 outright title in the process.
Having missed a round earlier this year, Aaren Russel finished the year in second place.
Vernon’s victory in the final race saw him finish third behind runner-up Grant Sherrin for the round and third in the overall standings and just two points ahead of Sherrin, whose P12 in the season finale cost him an outright runner-up placing. 
Vernon also walked away with the A1 class win for 2022, while Chris Lillis took out the A2 class win with a P7 for the final round. 


Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia

Triple Eight Race Engineering has continued its love affair with Mount Panorama this year after the #888 Mercedes AMG GT3 of Prince Jeffri Ibrahim and Broc Feeney won the sole race of the weekend.
The three-hour endurance race saw up to 78 laps of the famous circuit completed, with Ibrahim and Feeney reaching the chequered flag ahead of Schumacher Motorsport’s Brad Schumacher and Tim Slade. 
Throughout the mammoth endurance race, very little separated the two crews, however Ibrahim and Feeney would eventually take out the win by just 11 seconds. 
Rounding out the podium were James Koundouris and Jordan Love in the Supabarn Supermarkets Audi after the duo started where they finished. 
Winning the AM class were Michael Sheargold and Garth Walden, while Mark Griffith and Nash Morris took out the GT4 class.

Gulf Western Oils Touring Car Masters

Steven Johnson capped off a memorable weekend with two wins on Sunday to secure a highly impressive clean sweep of the category.
In his best round for the season, Johnson’s two of four wins came in different styles as he comfortably took out the morning’s race by nine seconds before grabbing a victory by less than a second in the fourth and final outing of weekend.
Placing second in both of Sunday’s races was Ryan Hansford and the Holden Torana A9X driver did his best to chase down the Ford Mustang TransAm of Johnson, but to no avail.
Rounding out the top three 10 seconds behind Hansford in the first race was Tony Karanfilovski, while Andrew Fisher landed third in the final race of the day – sealing a top three finish for the weekend. 
The Gulf Western Oils Touring Cars Masters has just one round remaining with the season finale to take place on the bumper Adelaide 500 support card early next month.

National Trans Am Series

Nathan Herne added yet another victory to his stellar 2022 season after winning the thrilling Trans Am Bathurst 100. 
Throughout the race, Herne was in control and methodically lad a train of cars, before a big incident between three cars behind him allowed the young Kiwi to cruise home to a win just shy of five seconds.
Crossing the line in second place by eight tenths was Owen Kelly ahead of Ben Grice, although a post-race penalty to the runner-up for contact with Brett Holdsworth in that late incident elevated Grice to second spot.
Rounding out the race podium as a result of Kelly’s penalty was Nash Morris, capping off a solid weekend for the young Queenslander.

Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App