Holden's last dance at Adelaide 500

Thursday 01 December, 2022
Photos: Edge Photographics
The sun is set to shine over the streets of Adelaide this weekend as the Repco Supercars Championship puts on a show for fans around the country for the final time in 2022
And the season will end in spectacular fashion with the grand return of the VALO Adelaide 500.
It’s been quite some time since Supercars raced in the heart of the city, the last being at the start of the 2020 season in what was the last on-track encounter before the season was cancelled due to COVID-19. 
The event was then cancelled for 2021 but brought back to life this year as it closes the return to normality with the category having visited every state in the country.
There is much to play for this weekend, especially for Triple Eight Race Engineering, who will be looking to close out an impressive season with another trophy as 2022 Champion-elect Shane van Gisbergen looks to claim his fourth victory at the circuit and his first since 2018.  
As usual, a maximum of 300 points is up for grabs across two 250km race with the event split into two, and although van Gisbergen has already won the title, the weekend will serve up an intriguing battle for the minor outright podium positions.
Cameron Waters currently occupies second place, however rivals Chaz Mostert and former Adelaide 500 race winner Will Davison sit 175 and 293 points respectively behind the Tickford Racing driver with all three in contention for that second spot.   
Not far behind the trio is Davison’s Shell V Power Racing teammate Anton De Pasquale, who can finish as high as third should he make up the 140 points on Mostert. 
Fortunately for De Pasquale, it’s very unlikely he will drop lower than his current position of fifth with the young and fearless Broc Feeney 270 points behind in sixth.
Lots will be on Feeney’s mind this weekend, as he will be making his Supercars debut at the circuit and will don a special Holden tribute racing livery along with van Gisbergen, as the sport bids farewell to the famous manufacturer responsible for more than 590 race victories, as well as 22 championships in its history.  
The Queenslander won’t be the only notable Victoria Park debutant for the weekend with Brodie Kostecki, Will Brown and Thomas Randle to compete at the circuit for the first time as a full-time driver.
The circuit itself has enjoyed a long and illustrious history with the sport as 2022 will mark the 47th and 48th championship races. 
The racing has always been close on the famous circuit with 10 races having being decided by less than a second, and Tickford Racing’s James Courtney has been involved in eight of those encounters. 
The opening race of the weekend will kick off at 3:15pm ACDT and will feature 78-competitive laps around the challenging street circuit.  
The first outing will then lead into a second set of qualifying and the fan-favourite top-10 shootout on the Sunday to set up what is expected to be an exciting end to a record-breaking season.
There will be plenty of on-track action for fans to enjoy whilst the Supercars enter the pits, with the GT World Challenge set to headline an exciting array of support categories to take the track across the weekend.  
For on-track session times, click here. 
Tickets are still available for those interested in attending the event and can be purchased here.  
For those wanting to tune in to the action from home, streaming will be available of Fox Sports and Kayo across the weekend, while 7mate will feature the event on the Saturday and Sunday afternoons.  
The Supercars will take to the streets of Adelaide for the VALO Adelaide 500 on 1-4 December.  

Championship Top 10

Shane van Gisbergen – 3382 points 
Cameron Waters – 2722 points 
Chaz Mostert – 2547 points 
Will Davison– 2429 points 
Anton De Pasquale – 2407 points 
Broc Feeney – 2137 points 
David Reynolds – 2000 points 
Brodie Kostecki– 1932 points 
Mark Winterbottom – 1735 points 
Andre Heimgartner – 1682 points


Thursday 1 December
3:55pm-4:25pm – Practice 1 

Friday 2 December
1:15pm-1:45pm – Practice 2 
5:35pm – 5:50pm - Armor All Qualifying Race 33
Saturday 3 December 
11:00am-11:30pm – Practice 3  
12:35pm-1:05pm – Armor All Qualifying Top 10 shootout Race 33
3:15pm – 5:15pm – Race 33
Sunday 4 December 
11:00am-11:15am – Armor All Qualifying Race 34
12:05pm-12:45pm – Armor All Qualifying Top 10 shootout Race 34
2:45pm – 4:45pm – Race 34
*All times are in ACDT

Support Categories 

Dunlop Super2 Series
Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters
Aussie Racing Cars
Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia 
S5000 Tasman Series

Supercars Entry List

Walkinshaw Andretti United
#2 Holden Commodore ZB - Nick Percat 
#25 Holden Commodore ZB - Chaz Mostert 

Tim Blanchard Racing
#3 Ford Mustang - Tim Slade 
Brad Jones Racing
#4 Holden Commodore ZB - Jack Smith 
#8 Holden Commodore ZB - Andre Heimgartner
#14 Holden Commodore ZB - Bryce Fullwood 
#96 Holden Commodore ZB - Macauley Jones 
Tickford Racing
#5 Ford Mustang - James Courtney 
#50 Ford Mustang - Cameron Waters 
#55 Ford Mustang – Thomas Randle
#56 Ford Mustang - Jake Kostecki
Grove Racing
#10 Ford Mustang - Lee Holdsworth
#26 Ford Mustang - David Reynolds 
Erebus Motorsport
#9 Holden Commodore ZB - Will Brown 
#99 Holden Commodore ZB - Brodie Kostecki
Dick Johnson Racing
#11 Ford Mustang - Anton De Pasquale 
#17 Ford Mustang - Will Davison 
Team 18
#18 Holden Commodore ZB - Mark Winterbottom 
#20 Holden Commodore ZB - Scott Pye 
PremiAir Racing
#22 Holden Commodore ZB - Chris Pither
#31 Holden Commodore ZB - James Golding
Matt Stone Racing
#34 Holden Commodore ZB – Jack Le Brocq  
#35 Holden Commodore ZB – Todd Hazelwood 
Triple Eight Race Engineering
#88 Holden Commodore ZB - Broc Feeney 
#97 Holden Commodore ZB - Shane van Gisbergen
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App