Amos continues strong start to hill climb series

Tuesday 28 March, 2023
Dean Amos has won the second round of the Mt Cotton Hillclimb Series
Dean Amos has gone back-to-back in the Mt Cotton Hillclimb Series after comfortably winning the second round of the 2023 season.

A strong field of 55 competitions were entered in the event as they got a handful of runs at the famous Mount Cotton hill climb.

However for most of the event Amos was in full control as he comfortably posted the fastest time overall – his 36.71 second run remaining unbeaten for the whole event.

Taking out second place, just shy of one second and a half behind Amos, was Warwick Hutchinson, who was the only other driver to go under 40 seconds during the event.

Rounding out the podium was Jim Milliner with the Formula Libre Class Up to 1300cc Class winner more than two seconds slower than the runner-up.

While Milliner was quite a fair way off Hutchinson for second, he was involved in a hugely entertaining battle with fellow class entrants David Quelch and Luke Weiks for the final podium place.

Less than a second was the difference between the three drivers with Milliner’s best time just six tenths faster than Quelch, whilst Weiks secured a top five finish and third in class a further four tenths off.

With the heavens opening up towards the end of the event, the eventual top six shootout featured neither one of Amos nor Hutchinson due to conditions, as Milliner ended the day with victory in the shootout.

Unlike the outright competition, Milliner was more in control and won by two seconds with Mick Harders and Weiks making up the top three in the shootout.

Other notable results from the hill climb saw Mark Cunningham win the in the Road Registered Sedan class by five hundredths of a second over Jarrad Olazabal, Robert Martin win the Regularity class behind the wheel of his Daihatsu Handi and Gavin Taylor take out sports car top honours in his Farrell Clubman.

The Mt Cotton Hillclimb Series continues at the end of the next month with round three to take place on 22-23 April.
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App