Amos conquers Mt Cotton

Tuesday 30 May, 2023
Photos: CH Images
Dean Amos has conquered the 2023 Motorsport Australia Queensland Hillclimb Championship after dominating Mt Cotton over the weekend.  

A healthy field of 50 competitors took to the track at Mt Cotton to tackle a total of seven runs across the weekend, all battling it out for the fastest run time in their class.

Leading from the very start, Amos got the job done on his fifth run when he powered his Gould GR55B to a time of 35.82 seconds to claim outright and class honours over Queenslander and current Australian champion Dean Tighe.

The New South Welshman had the fastest time in the opening run, before Tighe found some extra time in the second to briefly take the lead.

But the rest of the weekend belonged to Amos, consistently logging the fastest time to finish ahead of Tighe and his closest competitor in Brett Bull.  

Bull’s time of 37.98 seconds in his Van Dieman RF03 was enough to edge out South Australian champion David Mahon for the the final place on the podium as the Hayabusa driver's time of 38.75 seconds still enough to take class honours.  

Rounding out the top five outright was Neil Lewis in his Fly-001, with the Queenslander setting his fastest time of 39.25 seconds in his fourth run.  

An impressive outing from Tim Blake saw him once again take home the fastest Sedans trophy, posting a personal best time of 44.54 seconds in his Subaru Impreza WRX with Gavin Taylor and Ken Graham just missing out.  

A new record was set in the battle for the fastest Sports Car after Michael Larymore's 43.56 second time was faster than his closest competitor in Mark Crespan, who also previously held the record of 43.61.  

The weekend's best performer in a historic vehicle went to Glenn Wesener in his Holden GTR CU1, who was dominant in his class and only a second away from the Group N record.  

Other notable results saw Chrystellee Semple as the fastest lady and Rick Miles as the best Formula Ford.  

View the final results here. 

The final award for the weekend went to Luke Weiks – who won the award for the best average performance by a motorcycle powered vehicle.  
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App