Westlakes prepares for Rallysprint showdown

Friday 04 August, 2023
Image: Valentine Sports Photography
Some of New South Wales’ best Rallysprint competitors will make their way to Awabawac Park this weekend for the third round of the Motorsport Australia New South Wales S1 Rallysprint Series.  

Hosted by the Westlakes Automobile Club, the event will also form as the third round of the WAC Rallysprint Series and will see more than 20 competitors battling it out for top honours.

Each entrant will have three attempts at posting their fastest possible time in each of the two three-kilometre sections, with their two fastest times counting towards an accumulative total, which will be used to determine the outright winner at the conclusion of the event.  

To ensure fair competition, each competitor will be allocated into their appropriate class based of their entered vehicle's engine capacity and driveshaft, with class honours also being awarded alongside the outright competition.  

Returning after an impressive outing last time out, Peter Dunn will be looking to go one better after a second place in his Subaru STi behind the young Riley Walters, but this time, he will be behind the wheel of a Misubishi VR4 in Class E.

With both previous WAC round winners Walters and Evan Vale notable absentees, the door opens for WAC president Benjamin Semple to continue his impressive run in his Subaru Impreza RS after back-to-back podiums.  

Although, it won't be easy comings with many of the previous podium contenders once again returning to try and spoil the party, as Williams Swan and Darryl Hadley will take the track in their respective Subaru Impreza WRX.

There will also be some outside pressure from the usual contenders, with Jake Bramble joining the field in his Datsun 1600 after taking top honours in the Clubman class at the Naroomba Forest Rally earlier in the year.

Spectators are welcome to attend the event, with plenty of action to take in across the course of the day. 

Round three of the Motorsport Australia NSW S1 Rallysprint Series and Round four of the WAC Rallysprint Series will take place at Awabawac Park on 5 August.
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App