Amos claims Australian title after impressive hill climb win

Tuesday 31 October, 2023
Photos: Gears and Wheels Photography
Dean Amos is the new hill climb champion of Australia after winning the weekend’s Motorsport Australia Hill Climb Championship, courtesy of a record-breaking run.
A strong field of more than 100 competitors made their way out to Ringwood Park for the final National Speed and Auto Test event for the year, but it was Amos who took out the MG Car Club of Newcastle-run event with a scintillating time of 32.66 seconds.
Coming on his fourth attempt, the event-winning time also saw him break Malcolm Oastler’s record of 32.86 seconds that the New South Welshman set in 2014.
While there were quite a few individuals capable of claiming this year’s title, Amos’ victory proved dominant as 2022 champion Dean Tighe picked up second place after his best time was eight-tenths slower.

With every driver getting seven attempts up the course, Amos went fastest overall on six of the seven runs, with the only exception being his fifth when he received a penalty.
Outside of that minor blip, Amos was a standout driver throughout the day – his second and third runs of 33.20 and 33.24 seconds were also good enough to win the event.
As for Tighe, it was a bit of a struggle for the Queenslander, with only three of his seven runs being under 34 seconds, including his best time of 33.40, which came on his fifth attempt.
Frustratingly for the 2023 Motorsport Australia Supersprint Champion, he was unable to improve on that time and was forced to settle for second – beating the third-placed Greg Ackland by more than half a second.

Rounding out the podium, Ackland’s best time of 34.03 seconds came on his sixth run as he comfortably sealed third place.
Making up the rest of the top 10 was a collection of Formula Libres, with just three-tenths separating Warwick Hutchinson, Brett Bull, Alan Foley in the battle for fourth.  
South Australian title contender David Mahon finished the event in seventh place, while Neil Lewis, Miles Hoare and Dave Morrow rounded out the top 10.
With Formula Libres unsurprisingly dominating the event, Peter Brown was the highest placed driver outside of the class - the Pro Sport Mulsanne Supersports driver going 11th fastest overall with his time of 37.58 seconds just two tenths short of Morrow in 10th.

Just three places below Brown was the fastest tin top driver in Matthew Brown, who guided his Audi RS4 to 14th overall with an impressive time of 39.08 seconds.
Other notable results included Pauline Graham, whose time of 41.75 seconds saw her as the fastest woman and in 43rd overall, while Travis McGeorge was the best-placed junior in 83rd overall, with a time of 45.68 seconds. 
View full results of the Motorsport Australia Hill Climb Championship.

Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App