Collie Motorplex turns up the heat in Icebreaker event

Tuesday 26 March, 2024
Formula Vee produced some of the most entertaining racing across the weekend. (Photos: Sport Pixx Sport Photography)
Collie Motorplex welcomed 100 competitors over the weekend for its Collie Motorplex Icebreaker Race and Time Challenge Event.
Running on the circuit’s extended layout, eight categories featured throughout the weekend, with the Time Challenge serving as the feature event.
Spread across both days of competition, the regularity was split into two groups with each group enjoying one practice session and five official trial runs, which lasted five laps each.

As each driver received one point for every hundredth over a nominated time and two points gained for every hundredth under time, there was plenty of entertaining battles throughout.  
Taking out top honours for Trial Group 1 was Jamie Scott in a Ford Escort Mark 2, with Scott also picking up the least amount of points of all 21 entrants across both groups, while fellow Ford Escort driver Jason Youd finished second in both the group and the overall point score.
Winning Group 2 and claiming third overall out of both groups was Porsche 911 S driver Gary Cutler, who only just beat another Ford Escort driver in Geoffrey Metzke.

There were plenty of clean sweeps to occur across the board in the other categories, with four drivers dominating their respective fields and categories.
In the combined Sports Car, Sports Sedan and Muscle Car grid, Sports Sedans winner Ryan Humfrey guided his Ford Falcon XE to four wins from four races. Finishing second outright in three of those races was Chase Hoy in the Howe Ford Mustang, who also won all four outings in the Muscle Car class. Sports car winner Walter Epple finished second in the only other race.
In the Saloon Cars, two drivers enjoyed a perfect weekend in their classes, with Ford Falcon AU driver Mason Harvey comfortably winning the Pro class and the category overall, while Michael Koberstein was victorious in the Pro-Am class in all three races behind the wheel of a Holden Commodore VN.

Datsun 200BSSS pilot Benjamin Peachey dominated the Street Car & Production Car field, winning all three races outright, while Damien Croxon enjoyed Production Cars honours after an intense battle against Suzanne Palermo.
The final clean sweep of the weekend belonged to Stuart Young in Historic Touring Cars, as he picked up three comfortable wins in his LJ Torana GTR XU-1 – the next driver being Paul Onofaro, who finished third in all three races.
The closest battle of the meeting was in the Free Formula class, where Lance Carwardine bounced back from a fourth place in the first race to beat winner Brian Searles in the remaining two outings – the Jane Brabham BT 23 driver edging out Searles by just two points at the conclusion of the event.

Both the Excel Cup and Formula Vees had similar outcomes with their overall round winner taking out the first two races, before finishing second in the final outing.
Claiming the overall victory in the Excels was Zane Rhodes, although he was made to work hard for the win, as less than one second separated he and both Carlos Ambrosio and Anthony Jewell in the opening two races, before Ambrosio got the better of him in race three.
In Formula Vee, eventual round winner David Caisley enjoyed a comfortable eight second win over Paul Moltoni in race one and a three-second win in race two. Moltoni ended up claiming race three after edging out Caisley by just three tenths of a second.

Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App