NSW Motor Race Championships heat up at SMSP

Tuesday 28 May, 2024
Photos: Speed Shots Photography and Freelance Pix
The Motorsport Australia NSW Motor Race Championship held the third round of its 2024 season last weekend, with nine categories in action at Sydney Motorsport Park.
Boasting the largest field for the weekend was the Formula Ford Championship, which saw a strong field of 23 competitors entered and Kobi Williams victorious after winning two of the three races.
Starting off with pole position over Zak Lobko by eight hundredths of a second in Qualifying, Williams secured a thrilling victory in the opening race after beating Edison Beswick by three tenths, while Liam Loiacono rounded out the top three, despite having led for multiple laps.
Beswick ended up getting the win in the second race over Williams by an even smaller margin, with less than half a tenth separating the two at the end, before Williams regained the lead on the fourth lap of the final race and led the field to the chequered flag.

Steven Lacey produced a similar pool of results to take out Sports Sedans, having won the opening and final race of the weekend.
Both of Lacey’s wins came with comfortable margins as he beat Brad Shields by 12 seconds in the opener and Daniel Nolan by 14 seconds in the finale.

Shields himself enjoyed a comfortable win in race two, charging out to a 20 second victory in nine laps.

RDSC3953While both Lacey and Williams had somewhat of a comfortable overall round win in their respective categories, Luke Collett had to work extremely hard to beat Craig Sparke for Formula Vee honours in what was one of the most exciting duels of the weekend.

Sparke struck first with pole position before trying his best to defend top spot over Collett in the opener but was unable to do so, as Collett took the lead on lap four and never looked back.
Results were reversed in the second race as the duo enjoyed different stints in first place before Sparke took the win by one tenth.

It was a similar battle in the final race, with the duo exchanging the lead on multiple occasions, only for Collett to ultimately claim the victory by four thousandths of a second.
In Formula Race Cars, Ryan MacMillan held on for the round win after starting the weekend off with two wins, only to fall to third place in the final race.

Despite missing out on the clean sweep, McMillan had done enough to win the round over Tim Macrow Racing teammate Miles Bromley, who won the final outing.

Just three drivers managed to claim a clean sweep in the race meeting with Nick Kelly going undefeated in Supersports, Josh Craig winning all three Pulsar races and Ben Sheedy in Improved Production Over 2L, who steered his Holden VE Commodore to three wins from three races over Steven Engel.
In Improved Production Under 2L, Robert Jowett claimed the overall round win after being the only driver in the event to secure a podium in all three races.
In what was an entertaining fight between the four, the Honda Civic driver picked up one win for the round, with race one winner Danny Castro Jr retiring in the second outing and race three winner Matthew Birks missing out on the first race.

Rounding out the list of categories was the RX8 Cup, which was the only series to have four races instead of three. Taking out the overall victory after four races was Michael Hazelton, who ended the weekend with a near-perfect record.
Converting his pole position to the race one win, Hazelton then fell to second place for race two having been beaten by Robert Scott, but bounced back to win the third race before securing the round with a win in the final race of the weekend.
The next round of the New South Wales Motor Race Championship will be at Sydney Motorsport Park on 22 June.
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App