Bonnici secures victory for the Ipswich Season Opener

Wednesday 26 June, 2024
Photos: CH Images
Anthony Bonnici has pulled off a brilliant victory in the Ipswich West Moreton Auto Club’s first dirt sprint of the 2024 season, claiming the win during the final run of the day in his Mitsubishi Evo 8.
With previous autocross events having to be cancelled due to poor weather conditions, the Queensland club was thrilled to finally get the season underway. The Ipswich West Moreton Auto Club event was a testament to the resilience and enthusiasm of the IWMAC community.
As the day wore on, the 36 drivers continued to deliver a day filled with high-speed excitement and constantly improving on their lap times. Organisers and participants were excited to see the first round come to life.
Bonnici and Tracey Bavinton put on a show as they continued the rivalry in their Mitsubishi Evos.
Although both drivers had a flawless run, it was Bonnici who got away with the victory by going more than three seconds faster - leaving Bavinton in second place outright.
Rounding out the event’s top three was Allen Coles in his Peugeot 206 GTI, who also led his competition’s class across the five runs thanks to his time of 46.26 seconds.
Behind the top three was another intriguing battle for the fourth place with Ric Ganderton winning the fight against Danny Ikin by fourth tenths of a second.
Just one-second behind in sixth place outright was Tim Anson, who outperformed seventh place getter Ian Maguire.
The junior class saw a standout driving performance from James Bonnici in a Mitsubishi Mirage, who managed to post the fastest time with a time of 49.57 seconds, demonstrating the younger talent within the autocross competition.
Another class winner was Patricia McLeod, who claimed the Ladies Class honours in her Suzuki Swift. Close behind, Sasha Hinchcliffe claimed second place in the same class, finishing just four positions behind Mcleod.
Other notable results from the first round included Dany Ikin claiming Class D honours in a Ford Falcon, three positions below him was David Smith - who won Class A in his Honda Civic - whilst Bruce Dan picked up the honours for Class C.
The second round of Ipswich West Moreton Auto Club Autocross series is scheduled for Sunday 21 July 2024.   
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App