WA State Series kicks off 2020

Thursday 16 January, 2020
Photo: Beardy Snaps
After a successful year in 2019, the Motorsport Australia Western Australia State Speed Series returns with an extra two rounds planned for competitors.
Last season saw Marcel Every take out the 15-round season in an emphatic display and this year, if all goes to plan, the series will extend to 17 outings– starting with a twilight sprint at Barbagallo Raceway.
While 25 cars have already entered the first meeting for the year, more competitors are expected to enter the event which will see them enjoy a number of laps around the Wanneroo circuit under the sunset.
Series president Steve Metlitzky was excited to get the new season underway, despite the full calendar still being a draft.
“We’re really looking forward the season started again, especially after such a great year in 2019,” Metlitzky said.
“The calendar is essentially locked in but of course we’re just waiting on final confirmation for some rounds.
“With Collie now having a long track available, we can have the option of running a hill climb on the short track or long track which is great. People are also really enjoying that new track.”
Despite growing in popularity over recent years, Metlitzky believes the series will continue its dedication to grass roots motorsport.
“What is great about this series and what we hope to continue achieving is the variety of events that we offer competitors,” Metlitzky added.
“There is such a great variety from sprints during the day and at twilight to hill climbs, rallysprints and our new point to point format.
“It’s a great opportunity for people in grass roots motorsport. It doesn’t really matter what vehicle you have, whether it’s a road car or an open wheeler, people can enjoy motorsport with a great mix of people and a great mix of cars.
“There are so many different options for people to get involved with and that really underpins what we are trying to do in the series. We’re stoked that it begins so soon.”
The Motorsport Australia Western Australia State Speed Series begins at Barbagallo Raceway on 19 January.