Maguire leads Targa Tas at midway point

Wednesday 21 April, 2021
Photo: Wishart Media/Otherside Media

The 2021 Targa Tasmania is well and truly underway and after three days of competition, with Tasmanians Eddie Maguire and Zak Brakey currently leading the way.

Since the beginning of the 29th running of the iconic Motorsport Australia Targa Championship round on Monday, the 2016 Dodge Viper ACR pilots have been highly consistent throughout the 16 stages, finishing all but one in the top five. 

They have also managed to win six stages so far – half of which came on a opening day before a chaotic second day saw event favourites Jason and John White just one of many to crash out.

Since taking out the lead on day one, Maguire and Brakey have comfortably led the field of now 95 cars, winning two stages out of six on Tuesday and grabbing one more stage win during Wednesday’s four.

Almost two minutes behind the front runners are Trevor Macleod and Steve Glenney, while Angus Kennard and Ian Wheeler are just 18 seconds off the second placed Nissan GT-R.


The battle for the minor positions currently involve three Nissan GT-Rs with 2020 Targa Great Barrier Reef winner Tony Quinn and co-driver Kate Catford right in it, as they only trail Kennard and Wheeler by just 11 seconds.

With Maguire on track for his maiden Targa Tasmania victory thanks to the big buffer between he and the three crews behind him, the 34-year-old has been focused on just getting through each stage.

“We’ve been taking it pretty easy today. We’ve just got to get to the finish by conserving our lead,” Maguire admitted.

“If we can gain a bit of time in a safe manner, then we will, but it’s still about conserving tyres for us.

“We had a very easy run over Cethana this morning because it’s hard on tyres.”

The outright leaders are also currently winning the Dutton Garage GTO class by even more with more than two minutes separating them with Kennard and Wheeler.

Macleod and Glenney are enjoying a six minute lead in the Dutton Garage Early Modern 4 class, while Adam Kaplan and Aleshia Penney have steered their 2004 BMW M3 CSL to a comfortable three minute lead in the Dutton Garage Early Modern 2.

In the Shannons Classic GT class, 1970 Datsun 240Z drivers Jon and Gina Siddins are in top spot.

Click here to view full results from every class after the third day from day three.

The action continues tomorrow with a further six stages to take place.

Results after day three

Dutton Garage Overall
Ed Maguire/Zak Brakey (2016 Dodge Viper ACR) 

Dutton Garage GT Outright
Ed Maguire/Zak Brakey (2016 Dodge Viper ACR)

Dutton Garage Early Modern 4
Trevor Macleod/Steve Glenney (2009 Nissan GT-R)

Dutton Garage Early Modern 2
Adam Kaplan/Aleshia Penney (2004 BMW M3 CSL) 

Classic Throttle Shop GT Production
Ben Newman/Adam Kudra (2010 Subaru WRX STi) 

Shannons Classic GT
Jon Siddins/Gina Siddins (1970 Datsun 240Z) 

Shannons Classic Handicap
Ashley Yelds/Mary Hughes (1960 Volvo 122S)

Spirit of Tasmania GT Sports Trophy
Matthew Gibbens/Timonthy Jurd (2020 Lotus Exige 410)

Shannons Thoroughbred Trophy
Jack Waldren/Graham Mitchell (1981 Mitsubishi Sigma)

Budget TSD Trophy
Daryl Marshall/Peter Marshall (2002 Ford Pursuit Ute) 10 points 

Spirit of Tasmania Rookie Rallye
Anthony Seymour/Sandra Seymour (2018 Lotus Exige)

Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race