Supercars Super Preview: OTR Supersprint

Wednesday 05 May, 2021
Photo: Edge Photographics
After three rounds, the Repco Supercars Championship title fight is heating up as Chaz Mostert and Jamie Whincup secured vital race wins in Tasmania last month.
While Shane van Gisbergen still holds a comfortable lead at the top of the 2021 standings courtesy of winning the first six races of the season, Mostert and Whincup’s victories would have given them all the confidence required to continue their strong run in this weekend’s three races at The Bend Motorsport Park as part of the OTR Supersprint.
Last year, The Bend hosted two consecutive rounds with three-time champion Scott McLaughlin winning three out of the six races, the other three going to van Gisbergen, Cameron Waters and Fabian Coulthard.
Outside of his race victory, it was a very mixed weekend for the New Zealander with two top five finishes and a runner-up marred by a 14th place finish, while Waters was far more consistent with two fifths and two podiums to add to his win.
So far, Waters has had van Gisbergen’s measure in qualifying but has been unable to deliver in the actual races. A repeat of last year would go a long way in reviving one of the early title favourite’s chances.
The event welcomes two new wildcards to the grid - 2020 Dunlop Super2 Series winner Thomas Randle, who begins his three-round solo run with Tickford Racing and Kurt Kostecki for Walkinshaw Andretti United.
Supercars may take to the track for its first session on Saturday morning, however the weekend’s action will begin the day before with an exciting group of support categories to share the spotlight on Friday.
From regular staples such as the Porsche Paynter Dixon Carrera Cup and the Haltech SuperUte Series to the Motorsport Australia GT Championship, there will be plenty of action for fans to enjoy.
Tickets for the OTR Supersprint are still available for purchase, while fans unable to attend can watch all the action live via Fox Sports or Kayo.
The OTR Supersprint takes place at The Bend Motorsport Park on 7-9 May.


Saturday 8 May
9:15-9:45am– Practice 1
11:15am-11:45am - Practice 2
1:20-2:00pm – Armor All Qualifying Race 9
4:35-5:40pm – Race 9
Sunday 9 May
9:40-9:50am – Armor All Qualifying Race 10
10:00-10:10am – Armor All Qualifying Race 11
1:00pm-2:05pm – Race 10
4:10pm-5:15pm – Race 11
(All times are marked as ACST)

Support Categories

Motorsport Australian GT Championship
Haltech SuperUte Series
Porsche Carrera Cup Australia
Group N

Championship Top 10

Shane van Gisbergen – 865 points
Jamie Whincup - 726
Chaz Mostert - 700
Cameron Waters - 663
Will Davison- 623
Mark Winterbottom  - 587
David Reynolds - 474
Anton De Pasquale - 462
Nick Percat  - 439
Brodie Kostecki - 437

The Grid

#2 Holden Commodore ZB - Bryce Fullwood
#3 Ford Mustang - Tim Slade
#4 Holden Commodore ZB - Jack Smith
#5 Ford Mustang - Jack Le Brocq
#6 Ford Mustang - Cameron Waters
#7 Ford Mustang - Andre Heimgartner
#8 Holden Commodore ZB - Nick Percat
#9 Holden Commodore ZB - Will Brown
#11 Ford Mustang - Anton De Pasquale
#14 Holden Commodore ZB - Todd Hazelwood
#17 Ford Mustang - Will Davison
#18 Holden Commodore ZB - Mark Winterbottom
#19 Holden Commodore ZB – Fabian Coulthard
#20 Holden Commodore ZB - Scott Pye
#22 Holden Commodore ZB - Garry Jacobson
#25 Holden Commodore ZB - Chaz Mostert
#26 Ford Mustang - David Reynolds
#27 Holden Commodore ZB - Kurt Kostecki (wildcard)
#34 Holden Commodore ZB – Jake Kostecki
#35 Holden Commodore ZB – Zane Goddard
#44 Ford Mustang – James Courtney
#55 Ford Mustang - Thomas Randle (wildcard)
#88 Holden Commodore ZB - Jamie Whincup
#96 Holden Commodore ZB - Macauley Jones
#97 Holden Commodore ZB - Shane van Gisbergen
#99 Holden Commodore ZB - Brodie Kostecki

Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race