Queensland hails 2019 Champions

Saturday 08 February, 2020
Photos: Shifting Focus
The Motorsport Australia State Awards, presented by Burson Auto Parts, took place in Queensland on Friday evening as the state recognised the hard work and dedication of individuals last year.
With the East Leagues Club once again hosting the awards, a full house was in attendance as the champions of 2019 received their silverware and shed light on their well-deserved titles.
Outside of the multiple championship disciplines, the evening also celebrated individuals for their efforts in not just the previous 12 months, but for their contribution to motorsport throughout their whole careers.
Taking out the top Official of the Year award for the state was Rodney McDonald after his countless of hours volunteering at a number of circuit race meetings throughout the year.
David Wood was the recipient of the Ann Thomson trophy for his outstanding contribution to motorsport as was well respected scrutineer and course presenter.
While the 80-year-old gold licenced official was celebrated for his magnificent efforts in the sport, a young driver 60-years his junior took out the Will Power trophy – an award recognising outstanding achievements by a young Queenslander.

Following on from his title-winning season in the 2019 Michelin Sprint Challenge Australia, 20-year-old Harri Jones was a deserving winner of the trophy.


The evening also saw two seasoned veterans celebrated with Peter Flynn and Carmel Wilcox both honoured with Motorsport Australia Service Awards.
The final award to be given out was the State Event of the Year and while it was the circuit figures mostly taking out the individual awards, the CQ Crane Hire Gold Rush Hill Sprint, a popular local hill climb, was named as the best event for the year.
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race