Wilson continues purple patch in WA Tarmac series

Monday 11 January, 2021
Troy Wilson has continued his fine form from 2020 and picked up another win in the Shannons Targa RallySprint Series.
Photo: Tim Allott

Troy Wilson has produced an emphatic display during the Shannons Targa RallySprint Series’ third round to come away with a victory of 30 seconds. 

With more than 75 entrants getting four runs at the Bunbury course, Wilson and co-driver Toni Cameron proved just too strong all day.

Behind the wheel of his 2015 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, Wilson posted the fastest time in every run by six seconds or more and was the only driver to break the two minute and 10 second barrier.

Finishing the event off in second place, 29.93 seconds off the pace, was the 1993 Nissan Skyline R32 GT-R of Matt James-Wallace and Ben Tuck with the duo’s consistency enough to secure their position.

Rounding out the top three, and less than five seconds behind the second place pair, was Steve Jones and Jacob Zurzolo in the 2010 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X.

It was a gallant effort from Jones and his co-driver as they were locked in a tight battle with James-Wallace and Tuck, getting the edge in their final run of the day courtesy of being the only entry to break two minutes and 11 seconds. 

However a penalty in the third run ended up proving the difference between second and third for the 2010 Lancer Evo pilots, as they just fell short of what would have been a well-deserved second place.

One of the more impressive cars on the grid belonged to the husband and wife duo of Jurgen and Helen Lunsmann, who guided their 2019 Tesla Model 3 Performance+ to both a fourth place and C4L class win. 

The battle for fifth went down to two crews looking to capitalise on their previous rounds as Neil and Jensen Herbet made amends for the opening round, as they beat round one podium places Cody Harris and Jacob Zurzoo just over one second. 
The next notable result in the top 10 were Foky Fok and Long Hin Lai after the 2003 Honda Integra drivers comfortably picked O2L class honours and eighth place, while C4H class winners Nigel Ball and Geoff Duckworth finished just one place behind them in ninth.

The Shannons Targa RallySprint Series’ 2020/21 season continues next month with the fourth round to take place on 11 February. 
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App