Individuals receive 2020 honours

Friday 22 January, 2021
Photo: Flash Studio
With varied COVID-19 restrictions still in place and uncertainty surrounding the nation’s state border closures, Motorsport Australia can confirm the 2020 Motorsport Australia National and State Awards ceremonies will not take place this year.
Though there will be no physical ceremonies, it has not prevented worthy individuals being recognised for their contribution to the sport in a challenging year.
From the challenging Supercars ‘border run’ and travel bubbles, through to the multitude of events taking place at state and local level with strict measures in place, there were many inspiring motorsport stories across the nation.
As seen on, a number of award winners have already been declared for their achievements last year including international young stars Oscar Piastri and Alex Peroni, while Dr Jeff Brown and Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix Chief Medical Officer Dr Brent May were awarded Presidential Citations.
Dr May has now also been presented with the Motorsport Australia National Official of the Year award following his efforts during the 2020 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix, before leading Motorsport Australia’s ‘Return to Race’ campaign to create a COVID-safe resumption of motorsport.
With the 2020 Motorsport Australia state winners and media awards to be announced in the coming weeks, Motorsport Australia President Andrew Fraser paid tribute to all the award recipients despite no ceremonies being able to take place in 2021.
“Last year is a year we will never forget. It was one where people were faced with adversity but came out stronger on the other side,” Fraser said.
“That is why it’s so important to still recognise those individuals who went above and beyond in their area of expertise, as well as the drivers who excelled in their respective categories.
“With that said, on behalf of Motorsport Australia, it is my pleasure to congratulate all award winners for their 2020 achievements.

“It’s a shame we can’t honour them in person this year, but hopefully we will be back to normal sooner rather than later and we can celebrate them then.”

National Award Winners to date

Sir Jack Brabham Award - Oscar Piastri
Peter Brock Medal - Alex Peroni 
Presidential Citation - Dr Brent May
Presidential Citation - Dr Jeff Brown
Motorsport Australia Official of the Year - Dr Brent May
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race