Taylor champion of Extreme E

Monday 20 December, 2021
Molly Taylor and Johan Kristoffersson have won the Inaugural Extreme E Series title.
Australian Molly Taylor has claimed the inaugural Extreme E Series after an epic title deciding Jurassic X Prix in England.

With the five-round electronic off road season holding its fifth and final round in Dorset, Taylor – 2016 Motorsport Australia Rally Champion - and Rosberg X Racing teammate Johan Kristoffersson clinched the title over Lewis Hamilton’s X44 outfit on countback after both crews finished the season on 155 points.

Having won the opening two rounds and the penultimate round in Sardinia, Taylor and Kristoffersson went into the finale with a solid lead over their title rivals and would have hoped for a comfortable run.

The Australian and her Swedish teammate started off strong in the opening two qualifying sessions to finish second place for the semi-final, to which they dominated and secured themselves a second place starting position for the finale.

With X44’s Sebastien Loeb and Cristina Gutierrez grabbing pole position ahead of Taylor and Kristoffersson, the title race was mathematically down to just two crews.

In the final race of the season, Gutierrez got off to a strong start leaving the rest of the field in her wake, while Taylor led the remaining three cars for the opening stint.

However it didn’t take long for Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky in the JBXE car to overtake Taylor, which demoted the leaders to third place, but still with an advantage on the series points.

As Gutierrez continued to extend her lead before switching with Loeb, issues sustained to the car saw Taylor again lose a position and drop to fourth place which put them equal points with team X44.

Loeb ended up crossing the line in first place and winning the Jurassic X Prix, however with Kristoffersson holding on for fourth place, it was enough for the RXR team to secure the series title courtesy of their three earlier victories.


Following on from the event, Taylor took to social media to celebrate the title.

“Thank you to our amazing team & for all your support this season,” Taylor wrote.

“It’s been an unreal adventure. 

“Thank you also to everyone behind Extreme E for creating this concept - what an incredible achievement and platform for the future.”

Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race