SA wraps up state circuit season with diverse winners’ list

Tuesday 20 September, 2022
Photos: Bob Taylor
A strong turnout of 170 entries have taken part in the fourth and final SA State Motor Racing Championship event for the year with all eight competing fields enjoying plenty of action.
Held at The Bend Motorsport Park, the Sporting Car Club of SA run event welcomed a number of new categories on top of its regular series and championships – all of whom had a mix of three to four races.
Only two drivers truly dominated their respective categories, including Improved Production winner Adam Poole, who guided his Holden Monaro to four wins from four races – the 40-second victory in the last race his biggest margin.
In the newly included Brabham category, Sean Whelan was in a league of his own as he picked up a clean sweep of wins, while Shane Kutchel finished behind him in second on all four occasions.

Shawn Jamieson came close to a clean sweep of his own in the combined Saloon Cars/HQ Holdens category, however former Aussie Racing Cars champion Joel Heinrich managed to snatch a win by just two seconds.

Further down the field in the category, the HQ Holdens winners’ list was more diverse with Darren Jenkins, Darryl Crouch and Victorian Ryan Woods all grabbing wins with Jenkins having walked away with two wins himself.
The results in the HQs were far more representative of the weekend as a whole as many of the categories saw very little separating the top contenders.
Hosting the largest field of the weekend, the Circuit Excels saw Brad Gartner came away with the most favourable record of the 40 drivers with two wins and two further podiums, while series veteran Asher Johnston grabbed a win and three podiums himself.
Young gun Jayden Wanzek enjoyed some success of his own, picking up his sole win of the round in the fourth and final race.

In the Sports Cars/Sports Sedans, Panayot Boyaci steered his Porsche 991 Cup Car to wins in race one and four, but his solid weekend was marred by a race three DNF.
Mark Pearce was also solid throughout the race meeting, grabbing a race win and two podiums – his record far more superior than Matthew Sims who picked up a win for himself.
There were three different winners in the Sports Sedans class as Myles Bond was the only driver for the class to cross the line first twice - Joshua Pickert and Matthew Gold the other two Sports Sedan winners.

Paul Di Biase and Matthew Woodland were the two standouts for the combined Formula3/Formula Libre/Formula Vee/Racing & Sports category – each grabbing wins.
Di Biase was the more dominant of the two though, having bounced back from losing to Woodland in the first outing despite having started from pole.
The Formula Ford category was also dominated by three drivers - James Piszcyk, Valentino Astuti and Winston Smith each enjoying race wins - the latter two making the journey from Victoria and finishing on the podium in all three races.

It was a similar story in the Australian Sports Cars field, which welcomed a host of GC Marine Australian Prototype Series drivers – many of whom enjoyed success across the weekend.
The experienced Paul Trengove, first-year driver Tim Cook, and Radical veteran Ian Eldridge all enjoyed top honours in the category’s races – Eldridge adding two podiums to his wins.
With the season now done and dusted, the Sporting Car Club of SA has a number of events to see off 2022 before turning its attention to the 2023 season. 
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App