Rob Roy shines despite wet and windy conditions

Tuesday 09 May, 2023
Photo: MG Car Club of Victoria
The MG Car Club of Victoria has overcome four seasons in one day to successfully host the Historic Rob Roy Hillclimb.
Taking place at the famous Victorian hill climb course, a solid field of 33 competitors enjoyed six runs across the day – three of which were on the new short course.
With the best combined time on the short course and the more notable long course determining the standings, it was David Bell who took out top honours for the day.
Behind the wheel of a Subaru Impreza, Bell was the clear winner having gone fastest on both courses – his eventual combined time 54.85 seconds just under three seconds better than the next best driver.
In the entertaining battle for second place, it was Jayden Cresswell who got the better of esteemed hill climber Mike Barker as less than a second separated the duo.
Barker actually got the better start of the two contenders after he went faster than Creswell in his final run of the long course before Creswell snatched the place back during the short runs.
Just two tenths was the difference at the halfway point, however it was Creswell’s first run of the short course which was enough to secure second overall as Barker was unable to top him for the rest of the day.
The latter didn’t walk away empty handed though, as he claimed the Invited Sports cars 1501 cc and Over class win, while Bell led the dominant Invited Touring cars 2001 cc and Over class – Emma Collyer, Paul Sims and Gerardo Rabbi rounding out the top six.
Second in the Invited Sports cars 1501 cc and Over class and eighth overall was Russell Seymour with the MG A driver splitting the top-two Air Cooled class contenders, winner Joshua Lowing finishing seventh and Ross McLaughlan ending the day in ninth.
Rounding out the top 10 was Jacob Wingett and the Groups P & Q (Sports & Racing) class winner did so in style, as he edged out Invited Touring cars Up to 2000cc winner Abby Wingett in her Hyundai Excel by three tenths, while Group Nb winner Kenneth Parry was one second off in 12th.
View the full results here.
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App