Tighe wins big in Grafton hill climb

Tuesday 11 June, 2024
Photos: CH Images
Dean Tighe has bounced back from his Motorsport Australia Queensland Hillclimb Championship loss to take out the fifth round of the NSW State Championship season.
Taking place in Grafton, there were 28 competitors entered in the event, with Tighe going fastest overall thanks to an impressive time of 44.32 seconds.
The regular Motorsport Australia Hillclimb Championship contender was in a league of his own during the event – securing a victory of more than three seconds over veteran Dave Morrow.
Recording a time of 47.91 seconds, Morrow himself landed second place in comfortable fashion having enjoyed a two-second buffer over the third placed Greg Jones.

While each of the top two positions were comfortably secured by both Tighe and Morrow, the battle for the final podium place proved highly entertaining, as Jones claimed third place over Michael Boaden by three tenths a second.
It was even closer in the fight for fourth place with Boaden edging out Peter Akers by one tenth of a second.
There was no shortage of entertaining duels during the event either, with Erron Hennessy and Daryl Small separated by six hundredths of a second to secure seventh and eighth respectively, despite falling half a second behind the sixth placed Leslie Maloney.
Rounding out the top 10 was Brian Cox and David Hussey with competitive times of 51.75 and 52.32 seconds.

View the full results from the event here.

The next round of the Motorsport Australia NSW Hill Climb Championship will be run by the Tamworth Sporting Car Club at Oakburn Park on 21 July.

_54K3850 copy
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App