Waters wins North American Eseries round

Wednesday 29 April, 2020
It was another entertaining night in for the BP Supercars All Stars Eseries as Cameron Waters took out the round.
Cameron Waters has won the latest round of the BP Supercars All Stars Eseries after a consistent performance across the evening’s four races.
Despite not winning a race, Waters still found himself with the most points accumulated over the course of the night, finishing inside the top ten in every race, which included with a well-deserved runner-up in second race.
Starting at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in Canada, it was Shane van Gisbergen who picked up his fourth win of the series after starting on the front row next to Anton De Pasquale.
With Scott McLaughlin battling hard behind the two, van Gisbergen’s early overtake saw him claim the lead - one he never let go. With Will Davison in fourth, Waters got his first solid result of the night with a fifth.

It was a thrilling start to the second race as two thirds of the field were caught up in two major incidents before the third corner.

At the heart of the pile-up was McLaughlin, van Gisbergen and De Pasquale and all three suffered serious damage to their car. The trio struggled to make up ground once things quietened down, which meant a good result for them was out of reach.
The big winners from the chaotic reverse grid race was Fabian Coulthard and Chaz Mostert, however when Coulthard didn’t take his compulsory pit stop during the safety car period – his chances of winning a second race were over.
Coulthard’s error gave Mostert the opportunity to cruise into first place where he stayed for the remainder of the race and claim his first victory in the online series.
Finishing behind Mostert was Waters, who put in an outstanding drive to make up more than 20 positions after starting at the back of the grid.

It was a far less dramatic outcome in the third race as De Pasquale claimed his second victory of the series after leading for the majority of the race at Watkins Glen, while McLaughlin finished in second place ahead of polesitter van Gisbergen.


In the final race of the evening, Jamie Whincup finally broke his duck in the series with a straightforward victory in the reverse grid race. Finishing behind the seven-time Virgin Australia Supercars Champion was one of the four wildcards in American, Alexander Rossi.

Despite McLaughlin comfortably finishing ahead of van Gisbergen in third place, it wasn’t enough for the two Kiwis to win the rounds as Waters’ second fifth place finish of the night earned him the round win.

It was a tough night out for the four wildcards with the final race their best for the night. Australian legend Marcos Ambrose failed to shake off the tech gremlins in the lead up, but like Rossi, managed to grab his best result in the final race, crossing the line in sixth.
Teenager Angelo Mouzouris impressed during his Supercars e-debut, while the round’s most entertaining award went to 2018 NASCAR Champion Joey Logano who found himself at the centre of much of the chaos.
The BP Supercars All Stars Eseries returns at the same time next week, with competitors heading to Spa and the Nurburgring on Wednesday 6 May.