Drama expected in WA Motorkhana Championship finale

Friday 27 November, 2020
There will be 38 competitors taking part in the final round of the 2020 Motorsport Australia WA Motorkhana Championship season.
The Mini Car Club of WA will draw the 2020 racing season to a close this weekend as the final round of the Western Australia Motorkhana Championship takes place at the Tiger Kart Club.

The entry list features around 38 competitors, including an array of juniors and women, all of whom will be completing two runs of six different tests in what will be a strong way of finishing off the year. 

There are no surprises when it comes to who is leads the standings ahead of the final round with national star Scott Bennett just three points ahead of round two winner Jim Newell, while William Bennett sits just one point behind in third place. 

It’s a far more straightforward story in the battle of the classes with Peter Bergman eight points in front of his closest Class B challenger in Ben Currell, while Blake Laidler remains well ahead of his rivals in class C.

Event organiser David Elliott was pleased with the number of entries and hoped to wrap up the 2020 season on a positive note.

“The weekend is looking alright, we have 38 entries and a mix of good people,” Elliott explained.

“Previous years has seen a slight drop of numbers for the last round; but not this year.  Maybe the consistent numbers are due to the more condensed format of the Championship, being four rounds instead of the usual five.

“We’ve been lucky over here because we haven’t really had the threat of COVID-19 compared to other states in Australia.

“I know we have had to operate under restrictions as such, but physically it’s been a lot easier for us to run events compared to other states.”

The fourth and final round of the Motorsport Australia WA Motorkhana Championship will take place at the Tiger Kart Club on Sunday 29 November.

Events around Australia this weekend

2020 Challenge Bathurst
Yeehah Events Pty Ltd as trustee for Yeehah Events Trust
Mount Panorama, Bathurst NSW
26 – 29 November

BCC Salesyard Dash
Bendigo Car Club Inc
Huntly Livestock Exchange, Huntly VIC
28 November

November Come N Try Motorkhana
Bathurst Light Car Club Ltd
The Quarry, Bathurst NSW
28 November

Skidpan Drift Practice
Drift Cadet
Winton Motor Raceway (Skidpan), Winton VIC
28 November

2020 State Motor Racing Championship Series Round 5
Sporting Car Club Of SA Inc
Mallala Motorsport Park, Mallala SA
28 November

2 Day Dirt
Whitsunday Sporting Car Club Inc
Tonker Park, Whitsundays QLD
28 – 29 November

HSRCA 2020 Summer Festival
Historic Sports And Racing Car Association New South Wales Inc
Sydney Motorsport Park (Gardiner Circuit), Eastern Creek NSW
28 – 29 November

Phillip Island Auto Racing Club Ltd
Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, Phillip Island VIC
28 – 29 November

Mt Cotton Hillclimb Goodbye to 2020
MG Car Club of Qld Inc
Gramzow Road, Mt Cotton QLD
28 – 29 November

Netier National Capital Rally
Brindabella Motor Sports Club Inc
Canberra, ACT
28 – 29 November

Bitumen Khanacross
Central Qld Motor Sporting Club Inc
Gracemere Saleyards, Gracemere QLD
29 November

Drift School Level 1 and Level 2
Drift Cadet
Winton Motor Raceway (Skidpan), Winton VIC
29 November

November Khanacross
Bathurst Light Car Club Ltd
John Windsor Motorsport Park College Road, Bathurst NSW
29 November

State Motorkhana Round 4
Mini Car Club Of WA Inc
Tiger Kart Club, Perth WA
29 November

Superkart Races with Modern Regularity
Adelaide Superkart Club Inc
Mallala Motorsport Park, Mallala SA
29 November

SWTCC Motorkhana Round 2 2020
South West Touring Car Club
Bunbury City Speedway, Davenport WA
29 November

Western Victorian Crane Trucks Valley Stages
Nissan Car Club Australia Inc
Yarra Glen, VIC
29 November

2020 Tasmanian Supersprint Championship
Light Car Club of Tasmania
Symmons Plains Raceway, TAS
29 November

29th Historic & Classic Hillclimb
MG Car Club Victoria
Rob Roy Hillclimb, Smiths Gully VIC
29 November



Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race