Porsche joins Esports community with special event

Friday 15 July, 2022
Porsche Cars Australia will run a special one-off Esports event in September.
Porsche Cars Australia has announced it will run a special once-off virtual sim-racing event to take place in September.
To be known as the Porsche Paynter Dixon Esports Carrera Cup Australia, the event will see 30 competitors racing in a 25-lap race at the virtual Mount Panorama.
The event will be taking place over four days, with three of those days scheduled for pre-qualifying where drivers will post laps around the circuit and a top 20 will be selected, while the last day will feature both a special last chance qualifying sprint race and the main event.
The last chance qualifying sprint race will see competitors racing in a 15-lap race with the top 10 spots to earn their spot in the Grand Final.
The Grand Final will then see the top 30 compete at Bathurst for 25 laps with the winner to be crowned as the inaugural Porsche Esports Australia Champion.
Run in conjunction with prominent Australian Esports outfit, ORDER and Oceanic Sim Racing, Porsche Cars Australia will reward that champion with a special guest pass for the final round of the Carrera Cup Australia season on the Gold Coast.
In order to compete in the Porsche Paynter Dixon Esports Carrera Cup event, drivers must have a current, active, iRacing account, in their legal name, be a resident of Australia and be racing from Australia states or territories only.
Click here for more information.
This event won't be the first time Porsche Cars Australia has tried its hand at Esports, with the organisation having hosted a six-round series on iRacing for both Carrera Cup Australia and Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge drivers in 2020.
The event takes place over 21-25 September and will be broadcast live on the PorscheMotorsportAU YouTube channel and Facebook page, as well as the the ORDER Twitch channel.

Porsche Paynter Dixon Esports Carrera Cup Australia Schedule:

21 September: Pre-Qualifying
22 September: Pre-Qualifying
23 September: Pre-Qualifying - P1-20 drivers qualify for Grand Final, P21-50 proceed to LCQ
25 September: Last Chance Qualifier - P1-10 qualify for Grand Final
25 September: Grand Final 25 lap race
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App