Bennett dominates WA Motorkhana season opener

Tuesday 23 April, 2024
Photos: Motorsport Australia Western Australia State Motorkhana Championship
The Motorsport Australia Western Australia State Motorkhana Championship’s 2024 season kicked off on the weekend with Scott Bennett winning the round.

A strong field of 41 competitors took part in the event, which was held at the Tiger Kart Club in Neerabup, however it was the multiple-time champion who proved too strong, picking up a 14 second victory after 12 tests.

Finishing in second place was William Bennett, while decorated veteran James Newell rounded out the podium a further 18 seconds off.

Right from the get-go, Scott was the driver to beat as he went fastest on the opening test before winning the next eight tests to build a commanding lead.

It took until the 10th test for another driver to beat the leader, with William going just eight tenths faster before Scott responded instantly with a win on the next test.

William finished the event with another slender victory on the final test, but it was purely a consolation as Scott picked up the deserving victory.

240423_WilBenFinishing fourth for the event was Class A winner, David Elliot, who finished 15 seconds off Newell after putting in a highly consistent performance, while Class B winner Jurgen Lunsmann took out the final place in the top-five a further 20 seconds off in his Mazda MX-5.

Finishing sixth outright was Amy Bennett, who was the fastest woman for the event, while James Bennett took out Junior Cup honours with 10th outright.

Splitting the two Bennetts in the bottom half of the top 10 was Patrick Duffy, Michael Duffy and Graeme Harris - all of whom were behind the wheel of a Mazda MX5.

Other class winners for the event included Declan Stace in Class C, Robert Seres in Class D, and Triston Pierre in Class E.

View the full results here.

The next round of the Motorsport Australia Western Australia State Motorkhana Championship will be at Albany Regional Airport on 1 June.

Amy Bennett
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App