Bathurst International: Saturday wrap

Saturday 12 November, 2022
Read about how the seven categories fared at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst Intentional.

Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series

Bailey Sweeny grabbed his second win of the year after the opening race of the weekend saw four drivers DNF.
With a number of drivers aiming for important points in what is the final round of the 2022 season, including Jay Hanson who hit a wall, Sweeney took out race honours over Dylan O'Keeffe by two seconds.
Finishing the race in third ahead of Aaron Cameron was Nathan Morcom, while series leader Tony D'Alberto finished 12th, setting up an exciting final day of the year.
Two more races await the series with the first to take place at 9:25am and the second to wrap up the event at 3:40pm AEDT. 

Turtlewax Trans Am Series 

2022 Champion elect Nathan Herne’s brilliant season continued on day two of the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 as the Kiwi won both of the category’s races.
In what was an entertaining contest, the morning’s race saw Herne convert his pole position to a thrilling victory, beating Owen Kelly by just one and a half seconds.
 Just half a second was the difference between Kelly and the third placed Brett Holdsworth in the opener – highlighting the closeness of the competition.
In race two, Herne ended up reaching the chequered flag four seconds ahead of Holdsworth, who comfortably beat Lochie Dalton to the line by three seconds.
Kelly had a race to forget – finishing seventh and 24 seconds off Herne. 
Now that the two “heats” out of the way, only the Trans Am 100 remains up next with the race to begin at 2:40pm AEDT.

Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia 

Ahead of tomorrow’s massive three-hour endurance race, the Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia had two qualifying sessions, which saw international based Aussie Jordan Love top the time sheets.
Securing the fastest time in Q1 with an impressive time of 2:03.3587, Love just beat Broc Feeney by less than four hundredths of a second. 
However, it wouldn’t be enough to get top spot though as Brad Schumacher’s timesheet topping run on Q2 was enough to put the #55 Schumacher Motorsport Audi R8 LMS Ultra on pole.
With qualifying being determined by aggregate, Schumacher and co-driver Tim Slade, who finished third in Q1, managed to take a well-deserved pole position.
The official race gets underway at 10:40am AEDT. 

Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge Australia

The one-make series took part in its penultimate round today with two of the three races taking place.
As it has all season, it was title contenders Ryan Wood and Thomas Sargent who were fighting it out at the front of the field with each driver keen for valuable points.
Taking out top honours in both affairs though was Wood, with the Queenslander edging out Sargent by almost two seconds, while Lachlan Bloxsom rounded out the top three in race one.
In the second race of the day and final for the weekend, Wood again got the win over Sargent – this time, by a slightly bigger margin of just two and a half seconds.
Aron Shields rounded out the top three in what was a chaotic race that saw six cars retire early – four of which were involved in a dramatic start. 
The final round of the series will be at the Island Magic later this month.


Australian Production Cars 

There were two races awaiting the huge field of Australian Production Cars today and the category delivered with two different drivers coming out on top.
While the Go-Karts-Go BMW F80 M3 has been a dominant force in recent times, the Russells are yet to win any of the three races this weekend, including the two today.
In the day’s first race, Secure Wealth Advisers’ Simon Hodges picked up where teammate Jayden Ojeda left off yesterday; guiding his BMW F82 M4 to victory over Aaren Russell.
Beric Lynton finished in third place and improved in the day’s second race, finishing as a runner-up behind Grant Sherrin by just two seconds, while Wayne Russell made up the top three.
Just one race remains for the category, with the fourth and final outing to take place at 8:05am AEDT. 

Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters

Steve Johnson was a dominant force in the category’s two races as the Queenslander won both outings.
With the Trophy Race up first, Johnson managed to guide his Ford Mustang Trans Am to a one-second win over Ryan Hansfordbefore edging out Andrew Fisher by just sixth tenths of a second in the first race.
It was a different driver to round out the top three in both races as George Miedecke took advantage of four cars retiring to claim third, almost 30 seconds off Hansford in the Trophy Race.
There was less drama in the official race with all cars finishing, however eventual third place getter Adam Bressington still finished a fair way off the top two– nine seconds the difference. 
Two more races await the series, with the first to take place at 8:40am AEDT in the morning. 

Australian Prototype Series

The mixed category had an entertaining two races over the course of the day with many of the drivers getting their first taste of the mountain.
It was an unchanged top two from qualifying yesterday in the first race with polesitter Kai Allen beating Radical driver Neale Muston by a convincing five-second margin.

GC Marine Australian Prototype Series runner-up Ryan Godfrey rounded out the opening race’s top three over series rival Ricky Capo.
Capo didn’t have to wait long to get into the top three though, steering his Praga R1 to a tight victory of seven-tenths over John-Paul Drake in the second race of the day, while Allen finished third.
The series will be the first category off the line tomorrow with the final race to take place at 7:20am AEDT.
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App