Supercars heads to iconic mountain to start 2024 season

Wednesday 21 February, 2024
Photo: EDGE Photographics
The 2024 Repco Supercars Championship returns this weekend with the iconic Mount Panorama to host the opening round of the season.
Part of a 10-day motorsport extravaganza at Mount Panorama, this weekend’s Thrifty Bathurst 500 will see Australia’s premier motorsport championship make its return after a busy three-month off-season.
A number of drivers and engineers made moves to other outfits, and this weekend’s season opener will be the first opportunity for fans to see them all in action.
The most notable changes occurred for the reigning Teams champion, with Todd Hazelwood and Jack Le Brocq replacing both Brodie Kostecki and Will Brown at Erebus Motorsport.
Other high-profile drivers making the move to new teams at the mountain include Will Brown at Triple Eight Racing, David Reynolds at Team 18 and James Courtney at Blanchard Racing Team.
Joining Courtney at BRT will be West Australian Aaron Love, who is of three drivers making their full-time Supercars debuts this weekend, with New Zealanders Ryan Wood (Walkinshaw Andretti United) and Jaxon Evans (Brad Jones Racing) being the other two.
As for the engineers, there will be just nine driver/engineer combinations that remain the same as last year - the main changes being Chaz Mostert teaming up with former Tickford Racing engineer Sam Scaffidi and Anton De Pasquale joined by Perry Kapper.
There will be a handful of opportunities to see the new-look field on the famous circuit this weekend, with the event to feature two 250km races, spread across Saturday and Sunday.
The Thrifty Bathurst 500 is one of four rounds to include the two 250km-race format, with a pair of practice sessions to run on Friday, and a qualifying, top 10 shootout and race to make up the Saturday and Sunday’s schedule.
In addition to Supercars, there will be a bumper support bill for the weekend, with Dunlop Super2 and Super3, Gulf Western Oils Touring Car Masters, Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series and the Tyrepower V8 Superute Series all featuring in the three-day event.
The action gets underway at 7:25am AEDT on Friday morning with Aussie Racing Cars to get the event underway, while Saturday and Sunday’s action begin at 7:50am and 8:05am AEDT. 
Tickets for the event are still on sale and can be purchased here, while all sessions will be shown live via Foxtel and Kayo, with the Seven Network also showing coverage live and free.
The Thrifty Bathurst 500 kicks off the 2024 Repco Supercars Championship season at Mount Panorama on 23-25 February.
Friday 23 February
12:30pm – 1:30pm: Practice 1
4:20pm – 5:20pm: Practice 2 
Saturday 24 February
10:20am – 10:40am: Qualifying (Race 1) 
1:00pm – 1:45pm: Top 10 Shootout (Race 1) 
4:10pm: Race 1 
Sunday 25 February
9:35am – 9:55am: Qualifying (Race 2)
1:00pm – 1:45pm: Top 10 Shootout (Race 2)
3:05pm: Race 2
*All times local NSW times (AEDT)
View the full event schedule.
Support Categories
Dunlop Super2 and Super3 Series
Gulf Western Oils Touring Car Masters
Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series
Tyrepower V8 Superute Series
Entry list
Erebus Motorsport
#9 Chevrolet Camaro - Jack Le Brocq
#99 Chevrolet Camaro – Todd Hazelwood
Walkinshaw Andretti United
#2 Ford Mustang GT - Ryan Wood
#25 Ford Mustang GT - Chaz Mostert
Blanchard Racing Team
#3 Ford Mustang GT – Aaron Love
#7 Ford Mustang GT - James Courtney
Matt Stone Racing
#4 Chevrolet Camaro - Cameron Hill
#10 Chevrolet Camaro - Nick Percat
Tickford Racing
#6 Ford Mustang GT - Cameron Waters
#55 Ford Mustang GT - Thomas Randle
Dick Johnson Racing
#11 Ford Mustang GT - Anton De Pasquale
#17 Ford Mustang GT - Will Davison
Brad Jones Racing
#8 Chevrolet Camaro - Andre Heimgartner
#12 Chevrolet Camaro - Jaxon Evans
#14 Chevrolet Camaro - Bryce Fullwood
#96 Chevrolet Camaro - Macauley Jones
Team 18
#18 Chevrolet Camaro - Mark Winterbottom
#20 Chevrolet Camaro - David Reynolds
Grove Racing
#19 Ford Mustang GT - Matthew Payne
#26 Ford Mustang GT - David Reynolds
PremiAir Nulon Racing
#23 Chevrolet Camaro - Tim Slade
#31 Chevrolet Camaro - James Golding
Triple Eight Race Engineering
#87 Chevrolet Camaro - Will Brown
#88 Chevrolet Camaro - Broc Feeney
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App