SXS Season Finale on the horizon

Friday 18 October, 2019
Photo: Dirt Comp Magazine

The CAMS DEWALT Australian SXS Championship is set for up for a classic later this month when the championship heads to Caveat for the highly anticipated Grand Final. 

It’s been a huge season so far as three different drivers have won all three rounds, with Simon Evans, Ewan McClue and Toby Price all grabbing their victories in their first attempts. 

Last year’s epic final round saw Evans crowned champion for the first time, despite not taking part in the round’s final race, a race which went right down to the wire, so there is every chance that this round will end in the same fashion. 

In the box seat for the 2019 title is James Shipp, with the Polaris pilot on 176 points, his best result being a runner-up in Canberra earlier this year. In that same round, current runner-up Tim Liston had a disappointing day, which put a dent in his title chances. 

The SXS Sport leader has publicly announced his desire to overthrow the Turbo drivers from their throne, but with eight points separating him and Shipp, he will need to be at his best in the season finale. 

In third place and one of the only other realistic chances to steal the title is Jackson Evans, however having not finished on the podium once this year, it’s going to be a big ask for him. 

If any previous years have taught us anything, it is to expect the unexpected when it comes to the SXS Championship, so prepare for every driver to give their all in those five heats.

The fourth and final round of the CAMS DEWALT Australian SXS Championship takes place at Mafeking Rover Park on 26 October 2019

Title Predictor

James Shipp 176 points 

Shipp is in a nice position and has one hand on the trophy already but he needs to make sure he is in the round’s final race. Should both he and Liston make it in the final, then Shipp just needs to finish in the top five to be crowned 2019 champion. Anything less than a final race berth and he will be in the same position as Simon Evans last year – his title in the hands of his rivals. 

Tim Liston 168 points 

The pathway is simple. Make the eight-car final race, finish no lower than in the top three and hope that Shipp finishes five positions lower. If Shipp does not make the final and depending on how low he placed on the day, then the SXS sport winner just needs to finish the race in sixth or higher. 

Jackson Evans 164 points 

Needs a small miracle to win the title. He needs to win the final, Shipp to either finish last in the final or not take part in it at all and Liston to finish fourth or lower. 



1. James Shipp – 176 points
2. Tim Liston – 168
3. Jackson Evans - 164
4. Simon Evans - 154
5. Mitch Keyte - 148
6. Glen Ackroyd - 146
7. Tom Evans – 142
8. Stephen Henry - 140
9. Robert Gussenhoven - 134
10. Shannon Leach - 130
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race