Super support for Adelaide 500

Wednesday 30 November, 2022
A number of national categories will be on show this weekend as part of the VALO Adelaide 500.
This weekend, one of the most anticipated events of the year will finally take place with the first VALO Adelaide 500 since 2020.
The event, which serves as Repco Supercars Championship’s season finale, will take place over four action-packed days as the last major event of the 2022 motorsport season.
While many excited South Australians and interstaters heading to Victoria Park will be keeping a keen eye on the final two races of Supercars current era, there will be plenty of excitement for the bumper support card, which features a number of national categories. 
The Gulf Western Oils Touring Car Masters, Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia, S5000 Tasman Series, Battery World Aussie Racing Cars and Dunlop Super2/Super3 Series are the five categories to share the stage with Australia’s premiere racing category.
Click here to view the full schedule.
Unlike Supercars, a champion is yet to be decided in most of the categories, with Aussie Racing Cars the only one running as an exhibition.

Despite the round contributing to the 2022 season, which was won by Joshua Anderson over Lachlan Ward by just six points, the category will still put on a show for fans as a huge field of 30 competitors do battle over the weekend – including the champion himself.
Otherwise, the four other categories have everything to play for on the famous street circuit right in the heart of Adelaide.
A solid entry list of 15 will represent the sole open-wheel category for the weekend with the powerful S5000s to run in the second and final round of the coveted Australian/New Zealand trophy – the Tasman Series. 
While the series is taking place in Australia this year, it’s a Kiwi in Nathan Herne who occupies top spot after winning the opening round of the season on the Gold Coast last month.
There is plenty of star power to take on Herne in the three races, including former Formula 1 star Giancarlo Fisichella, two-time Gold Star champion Tim Macrow, current Gold Star Champion Joey Mawson and 2021 champion Aaron Cameron.

The Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia may not have a former Formula 1 star in its ranks, but there are quite a few notable names entered in the final round of the season.
Headlining the 21-car entry list is Supercars great Jamie Whincup, who will team up with Prince Abu Bakar Ibrahim in the Triple Eight Mercedes-AMG GT3.
While they aren’t in contention for the title, they will be there to support teammate Prince Jefri Ibrahim, who will have Nick Foster by his side in his attempt to take the title off current leader and defending champion Yasser Shahin and factory Audi Sport driver Christopher Mies.  
Liam Talbot and Fraser Ross are the other crew in contention, while the likes of Tony Bates, Garth Walden and 2022 Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge Australia winner Tom Sargent are amongst the other big names entered.

The Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters also has a solid field of more than 20 cars, although the title fight is more clear cut than in the GTs. 
As it stands, Ryan Hansford currently holds the advantage over John Bowe by 78 points heading into the final round, with 200 points on offer across the four races.
Andrew Fisher and George Miedecke also remain a mathematical chance for the title, while Steven Johnson will enter the round full of confidence after guiding his Ford Mustang to a dominant win in Bathurst.
The final category rounding out the list of support categories boasts the biggest entry list and it’s the Supercars feeder series, the Dunlop Super2 and Super3 Series.
A field of 31 are entered in the round as the large number of talented youngsters will be eager to impress on the national stage.
Triple Eight’s Declan Fraser currently leads the way and is in the box seat for the title, while Tickford Racing’s Zak Best, who sits 75 points behind, Cameron Hill, Matt Payne and Tyler Everingham are all some of the big guns entered.
The event will be broadcast live and free on the Seven Network, which will begin from 12.30pm ACDT on Saturday and 12pm ACDT on Sunday, with Foxtel and Kayo to broadcast all four days live and in HD. 
Tickets for the event are still on sale with multiple options available to fans. 
Click here to purchase tickets.
The VALO Adelaide 500 takes place at Victoria Park in Adelaide on 1 – 4 December. 
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race